R. Kelly Happy People / U Saved Me (2-CD)

Happy People / U Saved Me (2-CD)
145 ratings
12 copies available
Price: $15.49
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $0.50 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  YG84
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Jive

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.140
3 stars out of 5 - "HAPPY PEOPLE aims for dancing and romancing, while U SAVED ME calls for fervent prayer....Kelly is the master of the ultra-slow groove, and the songs on U SAVED ME take their time, then use gospel's strategic buildups to sweep Kelly towards faith."
Entertainment Weekly - p.122
"Kelly knows record making. The songs, all of which he wrote and produced, have a clean and fluid directness." - Grade: B+
Uncut - p.120
4 stars out of 5 - "HAPPY PEOPLE is an extraordinarily buoyant record giving off irresistible party vibes..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Weatherman
  • Buy for $0.992.Red Carpet (Pause, Flash)
  • Buy for $0.993.Love Signals
  • Buy for $0.994.Love Street
  • Buy for $0.995.Ladies Night (Treat Her Like Heaven)
  • Buy for $0.996.If
  • Buy for $0.997.The Greatest Show on Earth
  • Buy for $0.998.It's Your Birthday
  • Buy for $0.999.Steppin' Into Heaven
  • Buy for $0.9910.If I Could Make the World Dance
  • Buy for $0.9911.Happy People

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.3 Way Phone Call - (featuring Kelly Price / Kim Burrell / Maurice Mahon)
  • Buy for $0.992.U Saved Me
  • Buy for $0.993.Prayer Changes
  • Buy for $0.994.How Did You Manage
  • Buy for $0.995.I Surrender
  • Buy for $0.996.When I Think About You
  • Buy for $0.997.Diary of Me
  • Buy for $0.998.Spirit
  • Buy for $0.999.Leap of Faith
  • Buy for $0.9910.Peace

Product Description:

Personnel: R. Kelly (vocals); Donnie Lyle (vocals, guitar, bass instrument, background vocals); Kendall D. Nesbitt (vocals, keyboards); Abel Garibaldi, Nathan Wheeler (vocals, programming, background vocals); Uncle Life (vocals, background vocals); Kelly Price (vocals); Greg Landfair (guitar); Rodney East (keyboards); Steve Bearsley, Andy Gallas, Ian Mereness, Jason Mlodzinski (programming).
Audio Mixers: R. Kelly; Abel Garibaldi; Ian Mereness.
Recording information: Conway Studios, Hollywood, CA; The Chocolate Factory, Chicago, IL; The Studio, Philadelphia, PA.
Illustrator: Dee Dee.
Photographer: Riesig & Taylor.
Unknown Contributor Role: Omar Gilbert.
Arranger: R. Kelly.
R. Kelly's music is sometimes hard to separate from his borderline-absurd real-life misadventures, since his alleged misdeeds inevitably inform his recordings. While most artists are influenced by life unfolding around them, few people's private worlds bleed into their creative work in such a public and chaotic way. Heart-on-sleeve emotion has been a hallmark of Kelly's music, and as scandal has surrounded him, so have heartfelt pleas of forgiveness and repentance.
His ambitious 2004 double record, HAPPY PEOPLE/U SAVED ME, can be seen as a reaction to/against all this drama. The titles reflect the music within to perfection, the former containing infectious celebrations of life and love, the latter every inch a traditional gospel/soul record. When freeing himself to party on HAPPY PEOPLE, Kelly lets loose a torrent of catchy, groove-laden love songs, most notably the clever "Love Signals." On U SAVED ME, he gains gravity with a solemn grace that transcends his troubles, making a credible artistic conversion.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 145 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for R. Kelly

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 64,395
  • UPC: 828766035629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)