Ike & Tina Turner Greatest Hits, Volume 1

Greatest Hits, Volume 1
10% OFF
Rating 5.0
2 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  ATL 91223
on most orders of $75
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Clearance CDs with the ZHUS prefix may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: April 15, 1989
  • Label: Atlantic


  • 1.What You See
  • 2.Woke up This Morning
  • 3.Shake
  • 4.I Got My Mo Jo Working
  • 5.De Funk
  • 6.Funky Bill
  • 7.The Loco-Motion
  • 8.Proud Mary
  • 9.Ode to Billy Joe
  • 10.Slidin'
  • 11.Down in the Valley
  • 12.Ya Ya
  • 13.Driftin'

Product Description:

Although there are no credits given here, most of this material seems to derive from various demo sessions from the early '70s, apparently done at Ike's home studio, with a live version of "What You See" being the obvious exception.
At this point, Ike and Tina Turner were struggling to come up with a follow-up hit to "Proud Mary." It was also, to put it mildly, a troubled period in the duo's personal life--see the bio-pic WHAT'S GOT LOVE GOT TO DO WITH IT for the gory details--but musically, at least, it was obviously productive. Highlights here include a powerful remake of Sam Cooke's "Shake," and a playfully funky version of Lee Dorsey's "Ya Ya."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Product Groupings:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Ike & Tina Turner

Product Info:

  • UPC: 075679122322
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item