The Spinners The Definitive Soul Collection (2-CD)

The Definitive Soul Collection (2-CD)
14 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  HJWR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Atlantic

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.It's a Shame
  • 2.I'll Be Around
  • 3.How Could I Let You Get Away
  • 4.Could It Be I'm Falling in Love
  • 5.I Could Never (Repay Your Love)
  • 6.One of a Kind (Love Affair)
  • 7.Don't Let the Green Grass Fool You
  • 8.Ghetto Child
  • 9.Mighty Love
  • 10.I'm Coming Home
  • 11.Then Came You
  • 12.Love Don't Love Nobody
  • 13.Since I Been Gone
  • 14.I've Got to Make It on My Own
  • 15.Living a Little, Laughing a Little

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.They Just Can't Stop It (The Games People Play)
  • 2.Sadie
  • 3.I Don't Want to Lose You
  • 4.Love or Leave
  • 5.Honest I Do
  • 6.Wake up Susan
  • 7.The Rubberband Man
  • 8.You're Throwing a Good Love Away
  • 9.Me & My Music
  • 10.Heaven on Earth (So Fine)
  • 11.Easy Come, Easy Go
  • 12.If You Wanna Do a Dance (All Night)
  • 13.Are You Ready For Love
  • 14.Working My Way Back To You / Forgive Me Girl
  • 15.Cupid / I've Loved You For A Long Time

Product Description:

The Spinners (US): Bobbie Smith, Henry Fambrough, Pervis Jackson, G.C. Cameron, John Edwards , Billy Henderson, Phillippe Wynn (vocals).
Additional personnel: Dionne Warwick.
In the mid-1970s, the Spinners came to epitomize the Philly Soul sound, and the albums they cut for Atlantic during the period are classics of the genre. Led by the aching falsetto of lead singer Phillipe Wynne, and fleshed out with strings, horns, and lush accompaniment (courtesy of producer Thom Bell), the Spinners helped define a sound and paved the way for the quiet storm and adult contemporary soul that would follow in the '80s and '90s.
This two-disc set collects 30 of the Spinners greatest hits under one cover, reaching back to the group's first success, "It's a Shame," and including "I'll Be Around," "Ghetto Child," and "They Just Can't Stop It (Games People Play)," among other classics. The Spinners could be funky ("The Rubberband Man") and sensuously romantic ("Could It Be I'm Falling in Love") with equal ease, and their music holds up decades later. DEFINITIVE SOUL is indeed a definitive look at the best of this legendary smooth soul group.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 14 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Spinners

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227766726
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)