Solomon Burke The Definitive Soul Collection (2-CD)

The Definitive Soul Collection (2-CD)
2 ratings
Price: $26.39
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  AXJX
Brand New

CD Details

  • Clearance CDs with the ZHUS prefix may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Atlantic

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Just out of Reach (Of My Two Open Arms)
  • 2.Cry to Me
  • 3.Down in the Valley
  • 4.I'm Hanging Up My Heart for You
  • 5.Go on Back to Him
  • 6.Home in Your Heart
  • 7.If You Need Me
  • 8.Can't Nobody Love You
  • 9.You're Good for Me
  • 10.He'll Have to Go
  • 11.Goodbye Baby (Baby Goodbye)
  • 12.Everybody Needs Somebody to Love
  • 13.Looking for My Baby
  • 14.Yes I Do
  • 15.The Price
  • 16.Tonight's the Night

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Got to Get You off My Mind
  • 2.Someone Is Watching
  • 3.Baby Come on Home
  • 4.Keep Looking
  • 5.Keep a Light in the Window Till I Come Home
  • 6.Take Me (Just as I Am)
  • 7.Detroit City
  • 8.Party People
  • 9.I Wish I Knew (How It Would Feel to Be Free)
  • 10.Soul Meeting
  • 11.Get out of My Life Woman
  • 12.Proud Mary
  • 13.Midnight and You
  • 14.You and Your Baby Blues

Product Description:

Personnel: Solomon Burke (vocals); Don Covay, Joe Tex, Arthur Conley, Ben E. King (vocals).
Audio Remasterers: Dave Schultz; Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Author: John Tottenham.
Author: Ahmet Ertegun.
The King of Rock & Soul, Solomon Burke, gets the deluxe treatment on this installment of Rhino's double-disc DEFINITIVE SOUL series. One of the original R&B heavyweights on Atlantic Records, Burke helped define the sound of 1960s soul music, mixing gritty vocals straight from the church pulpit with an infectious pop sensibility on songs like "Everybody Needs Somebody," "Cry to Me," and "If You Need Me," all of which are included here. While never achieving the broad mainstream recognition (even in his later years) of Sam Cooke or Otis Redding, Solomon Burke was a tireless performer and an ingenious artist who continued to make quality music for decades after soul music's heyday. And although this 30-song set doesn't include tracks from Burke's two early-2000s comeback records made with producer Joe Henry, it does feature several sides Burke recorded after he left Atlantic, including a charming take on Creedence's classic "Proud Mary" released on Bell in 1969. While really only focusing on Burke's seminal recordings for Atlantic, this excellent comp is still fit for a king.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Solomon Burke

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 69,546
  • UPC: 081227766627
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking titles in the R&B / Soul genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)