Spike Jones Spiked!: The Music of Spike Jones

Spiked!: The Music of Spike Jones
2 ratings
Price: $7.19
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $0.79 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YH22
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: RCA

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 9/22/94, p.92
4 Stars - Excellent - "...a broad overview of Jones' career through rare and obscure tracks dating from one of his first recordings, 'Red Wing' (1941), to his final studio effort, 'Frantic Freeway' (1961)...."


  • Buy for $0.991.Hotcha Cornia (Black Eyes)
  • Buy for $0.992.Pal-Yat-Chee
  • Buy for $0.993.Serenade to a Jerk
  • Buy for $0.994.Knock Knock (Who's There?)
  • Buy for $0.995.Holiday For Strings
  • Buy for $0.996.Laura
  • Buy for $0.997.I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight
  • Buy for $0.998.Baby Buggie Boogie
  • Buy for $0.999.Red Wing
  • Buy for $0.9910.Minka
  • Buy for $0.9911.Deep Purple
  • Buy for $0.9912.The Man on the Flying Trapeze
  • Buy for $0.9913.I Dream of Brownie With the Light Blue Jeans
  • Buy for $0.9914.Our Hour (The Puppy Love Song)
  • Buy for $0.9915.I'm Getting Sentimental Over You
  • 16.Powerhouse - (previously unreleased)
  • 17.Frantic Freeway - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9918.The Little Girl's Dream (Part 1) / Miniature Overture / March
  • Buy for $0.9919.Land Of The Sugar Plum Fairy (Part 2) / Lemon Drop Waltz / Dance Of The Sugar Plum Fairy
  • Buy for $0.9920.Chinese Dolls / The Fairy Ball (Part 3) / Chinese Dance / Dance Of The Flutes
  • Buy for $0.9921.The Mysterious Room (Part 4) / The Forbidden Room / Arab Dance
  • Buy for $0.9922.Back To The Fairy Ball (Part 5) / They Dance On The Seat Of Their Pants / Russian Dance / Waltz Of The Flowers
  • Buy for $0.9923.End Of The Little Girl's Dream (Part 6) / Granny Speaks / Goodnight, Sleep Tight

Product Description:

SPIKED! is a compilation of various Spike Jones recordings--some previously
unreleased--with His City Slickers and with His Other Orchestra.
Spike Jones & His City Slickers includes: Spike Jones (drums, percussion); Judie Manners, Red Ingle, Doodles Weaver, Sir Frederick Gas, George Rock, Freddy Morgan, Dick Morgan, The Four Fifths, Jimmy Cassidy, Dr. Horaio Q Birdbath, Gil Bert, Del Porter, The Rhythmaires, Paul Frees, Carl Grayson, The Barefooted Pennsylvanians, Susan Scott (vocals).
Additional personnel includes: Homer & Jethro; Spike Jones & His Other Orchestra.
Recorded between 1941 and 1961. Includes liner notes by Thomas Pynchon and Tim Page.
Spike Jones, probably the only band leader who ever conducted with a starter pistol, was an aural Dadaist years ahead of his time. He brought the art of pop and classical music parody to its absolute apogee. Along with his crack band, the City Slickers, Jones also bequeathed several new instruments to the traditional orchestra, among them the latrineophone (a toilet seat strung with catgut).
This Jones anthology, released (oddly or appropriately enough) by BMG's avant-garde classical label, is interestingly programmed, with just a few of Jones' big hits ("Pal-Yat-Chee," "Laura," "Holiday For Strings") surrounded by more obscure sides. But just about everything here is either hysterical or musically brilliant--or both. As a bonus, SPIKED also includes an insightful liner note appreciation of Jones by the normally elusive Thomas Pynchon.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Spike Jones

Product Info

  • UPC: 090266198221
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)