Oscar Peterson The Complete Tokyo Concert 1964 (Live) (2-CD)

The Complete Tokyo Concert 1964 (Live) (2-CD)
1 rating
List Price: $26.98
Price: $24.28
You Save: $2.70 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  662QY
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Jazz Lips

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Reunion Blues
  • 2.At Long Last Love
  • 3.I Remember Clifford
  • 4.Bags' Groove
  • 5.Maidens Of Cadiz
  • 6.Tangerine
  • 7.Like Someone In Love
  • 8.Satin Doll
  • 9.Tricotism
  • 10.It Ain't Necessarily So
  • 11.I Loves You Porgy
  • 12.Tonight
  • 13.Fly Me to the Moon
  • 14.Somewhere
  • 15.Yours Is My Heart Alone
  • 16.Hymn to Freedom
  • 17.Younger Than Springtime
  • 18.Misty
  • 19.Django
  • 20.The Smudge
  • 21.Autumn Leaves
  • 22.Moanin'
  • 23.Lovers' Promenade
  • 24.Children's Tune

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Tonight
  • 2.Fly Me To The Moon
  • 3.Somewhere
  • 4.Yours Is My Heart Alone
  • 5.Hymn To Freedom
  • 6.Younger Than Spring Time
  • 7.Misty
  • 8.Django
  • 9.The Smudge
  • 10.Autumn Leaves
  • 11.Moanin'
  • 12.Lovers' Promenade
  • 13.Children's Tune

Product Description:

Personnel: Oscar Peterson (piano); Ed Thigpen (drums).
Recording information: 06/02/1964-05/29/1965.
This two-CD set combines two separate concerts by the Oscar Peterson Trio. The bulk of this Jazz Lips compilation is devoted to The Complete Tokyo Concert 1964, previously only available as a Pablo LP or CD in Japan. With Ray Brown and Ed Thigpen providing their usual sterling support, covering favorite standards, time-tested jazz compositions (many of which were still relatively new at the time) like "I Remember Clifford" and "Bags' Groove," plus Peterson's stirring, gospel-infused "Hymn to Freedom." Peterson does his share of showing off his tremendous chops, though he is remarkably restrained on the ballad features, except for the rollicking setting of "Tonight" (from the musical West Side Story) and a ridiculously fast "Yours Is My Heart Alone." Added as bonus tracks on the second disc are the complete contents that appeared on the Limelight LP Eloquence, recorded in 1965 at Tivoli Gardens in Copenhagen, shortly before Thigpen left the trio. Unfortunately, the unissued take of "Cute" remains hidden in the vault, but the group is a bit more subdued in this concert, highlighted by John Lewis' lush "Django" and a pair of Peterson miniatures that wrap the show. The extended liner notes are rather bland, consisting of the pianist's overall discographical history for each of the songs played in the Tokyo concert. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Oscar Peterson

Product Info

  • UPC: 8436019587577
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)