Spike Jones The Jones Laughing Record [ASV / Living Era]

The Jones Laughing Record [ASV / Living Era]
10% OFF
Rating 4.0
1 rating
List Price: $11.98
Your Price: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  SF5Y
on most orders of $35
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 24, 2002
  • Label: Asv Living Era


  • 1.William Tell Overture (after Rossini)
  • 2.Jones Laughing Record, The (with "The Flight of the Bumble Bee") (after Rimsky-Korsakov)
  • 3.Glow Worm, The (After Robinson & Lincke)
  • 4.Mother Goose Medley (after Brahms & traditional tunes)
  • 5.Old MacDonald Had A Farm (After Brown & MacDonald)
  • 6.Laura (After Raskin & Mercer)
  • 7.Minka
  • 8.Love In Bloom (After Rainger & Robin)
  • 9.Man on the Flying Trapeze, The (after Gaston, Leybourne & Lee)
  • 10.People Are Funnier Than Anybody (After Finberg & Brandt)
  • 11.I'm Getting Sentimental Over You (After Washington & Bassman)
  • 12.Our Hour (The Puppy Love Song) (After Livingston, Hoffman & David)
  • 13.I Kiss Your Hand, Madame (After Erwin, Young, Rotter & Lewis)
  • 14.My Old Flame (After Coslow & Johnson)
  • 15.Ill Barkio (Il Bacio) (After Arditi)
  • 16.None But The Lonely Heart (A Soaperetta) (After Tchaikovsky)
  • 17.McNamara's Band (After Stanford & O'Connor)
  • 18.Knock, Knock, Who's There? (After Lopez, Morris, Thyson, Davies)
  • 19.Chinese Mule Train (After Lange, Heath & Glickman)
  • 20.Ghost Riders In the Sky
  • 21.Black Bottom (After Henderson, DeSylva & Brown)
  • 22.Dance Of The Hours (After Ponchielli)
  • 23.All I Want for Christmas Is My Two Front Teeth

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Spike Jones & His City Slickers; Doodles Weaver, Sir Frederick Gas, Dr. Horatio Q. Birdbath (vocals).
Recorded between 1946 and 1949.
Personnel: Spike Jones (vocals); George Rock (vocals, trumpet); Fourfifths, Paul Judson, Freddie Morgan, Dr. Horatio Q. Birdbath, Doodles Weaver, Helen Grayco, Jimmy Cassidy, Aileen Carlisle, Sir Frederick Gas, Tailwaggers, Saliva Sisters, Paul Frees, Red Ingle (vocals); Dick Gardner (violin); Tommy Pederson (trombone).
Audio Remasterers: Doug Shearer; Martin Haskell.
Liner Note Author: Peter Dempsey.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (02/11/1946-??/??/1949); Los Angeles, CA (02/11/1946-??/??/1949); New York, NY (02/11/1946-??/??/1949).
Unknown Contributor Role: Frank Leithner.
Arrangers: George Rock; Brandt; Spike Jones.
Compiling music from the immediate postwar years of the late '40s, The Jones Laughing Record skips "Der Fuehrer's Face," the biggest '40s hit from Spike Jones & His City Slickers, but does include several of the orchestra's best song parodies of the era. Beginning with the "William Tell Overture," Jones and his talented orchestra indulge in hilarious send-ups of crossover hits -- "The Glow Worm," "Laura," "Love in Bloom," "Ghost Riders in the Sky," and the decidedly unsentimental "I'm Getting Sentimental over You." Ending the collection is the band's most lasting hit: the Christmas perennial "(All I Want for Christmas Is) My Two Front Teeth." ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Spike Jones

Product Info:

  • UPC: 743625543728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm