Elvis Costello Secret, Profane & Sugar Cane (Digipak)

Secret, Profane & Sugar Cane (Digipak)
42 ratings
18 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YGVE
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Hear Music

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.74
4 stars out of 5 -- "Recorded in Nashville in three days, it's tight and uncluttered, with fiddle and dobro accenting jaunty bluegrass-folk corkers such as 'Hidden Shame.'"
Spin - p.88
"With alchemical highlights that include back-porch footstompers, torchy weepers, and a tenderhearted, set-closing waltz, SECRET testifies to the merits of aging gracefully."
Billboard (p.33) - "[On] 'My All Time Doll,' one of the strongest cuts, Jeff Taylor's accordion shades the desperation in Costello's lyric with just the right amount of sarcasm."
Q (Magazine) - p.118
3 stars out of 5 -- "[The album is] reminiscent of ALMOST BLUE's country covers, recorded nearly three decades ago....All good stuff..."
Record Collector (magazine) - pp.80-81
3 stars out of 5 -- "[A] weighty addition to a body of work that continues to buck trends and restlessly seek out fresh adventures."
Uncut (magazine)
4 stars out of 5 -- "'Red Cotton,' the last of the Andersen songs, is the most gripping ballad entry....[This is] his most engaging album in a very long time."


  • Buy for $0.991.Down Among the Wine and Spirits
  • Buy for $1.292.Complicated Shadows
  • Buy for $1.293.I Felt The Chill
  • Buy for $0.994.My All Time Doll
  • Buy for $0.995.Hidden Shame
  • Buy for $0.996.She Handed Me A Mirror
  • Buy for $0.997.I Dreamed Of My Old Lover
  • Buy for $0.998.How Deep Is The Red ?
  • Buy for $1.299.She Was No Good
  • Buy for $1.2910.Sulfur To Sugarcane
  • Buy for $1.2911.Red Cotton
  • Buy for $1.2912.Crooked Line, The - (featuring Emmylou Harris)
  • Buy for $1.2913.Changing Partners

Product Description:

Personnel: Jeff Taylor , Jerry Douglas , Mike Compton, Stuart Duncan, Dennis Crouch.
Audio Mixer: Mike Piersante.
Audio Remasterer: Gavin Lurssen.
One of Elvis Costello's most interesting studio outings was the quietly-received 1986 sleeper KING OF AMERICA, a down-to-earth affair produced sympathetically by T-Bone Burnett, who knows how to bring out the best in singer-songwriters. Rematched here with Burnett (who co-wrote a few tracks), Costello bares his Americana soul on an unerring set of string-band roots numbers that resonate with authenticity and heart.
Themes of rejection, tainted love, and other strains of emotional disquietude flow through the songs, and the humble, sad melodies are supported by the aching cry of violin, dobro, and accordion, provided by Costello's backing band, the Sugarcanes (including Jim Lauderdale on vocals). Some of the songs began their life as part of a chamber opera that Costello wrote for the Royal Danish Opera about the doomed romance of Hans Christian Andersen and singer Jenny Lind, some are acousticized version of older albums tracks, and some are brand new, but each track crackles with the same shirt-sleeve torch and twang and inspired musicianship. Standouts include the country cheatin' waltz "I Felt the Chill," co-written with Loretta Lynn, and the boastful strut of "Sulphur to Sugar Cane."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 42 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Elvis Costello

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 106,138
  • UPC: 888072312807
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)