Lester Young Lester Young in Washington, D.C., 1956, Volume 2 (Live)

Lester Young in Washington, D.C., 1956, Volume 2
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  OJC 8812
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: OJC


  • Buy for $0.991.Lester Leaps In
  • Buy for $0.992.These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You)
  • Buy for $0.993.I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)
  • Buy for $0.994.Three Little Words
  • Buy for $0.995.Jumpin' With Symphony Sid
  • Buy for $0.996.Almost Like Being In Love
  • Buy for $0.997.Lullabye Of Birdland

Product Description:

Personnel: Lester Young (tenor saxophone); Bill Potts (piano); Norman Williams (bass); Jim Lucht (drums).
Recorded at Olivia Davis' Patio Lounge, Washington, D.C. on December 7, 1956.
Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (1996, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Personnel: Lester Young (tenor saxophone); Bill Potts (piano); Norman Williams (bass guitar); Jim Lucht (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Phil DeLancie.
Liner Note Author: Dan Morgenstern.
Recording information: Olivia Davis's Patio Lounge, Washington DC (12/03/1956-12/09/1956).
Photographer: Phil Stern.
This second of five volumes documenting a particularly inspired night for Lester Young, this CD really burns with energy and enthusiasm. Even ballads such as "These Foolish Things (Remind Me of You)" are played with Young's characteristic cool approach, but also with a great keenness for the music. Many critics claim that Young's playing went steadily down hill after his tenure in the military (where he was the victim of fierce racism). However, the eagerness and playfulness of this CD proves that Young still had a lot of vitality and musical invention left in him, even late in his career.
Unfortunately, the recording fidelity is not all that great on this CD, but the fine performance by Young and his cohorts more than makes up for this. Supported by an obscure trio, the level of musical and technical prowess of pianist Bill Potts, drummer Jim Lucht and bassist Norman Williams is surprising. Highlights include the vigorous "Lullaby of Birdland," and the equally bouncy "Jumpin' With Symphony Sid."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Lester Young

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 114,883
  • UPC: 025218688123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)