Holly Hofmann Live at Athenaeum Jazz, Volume 2

Live at Athenaeum Jazz, Volume 2
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YGQH
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Capri Records

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - p.102
"The chemistry resulting from their loosely arranged explorations is so instinctive, the duo seems to be straddling the nebulous line that separates a jazz combo from the kind of duo that only interprets flute sonata literature."


  • Buy for $0.991.More Than You Know
  • Buy for $0.992.Floof
  • Buy for $0.993.Introspection / Eronel
  • Buy for $0.994.No Mercy
  • Buy for $0.995.Twelve
  • Buy for $0.996.Free Day (For Samuel Barber)
  • Buy for $0.997.Out of This World
  • Buy for $0.998.If I Should Lose You
  • Buy for $0.999.Presentimiento
  • Buy for $0.9910.Exactly Like You

Product Description:

A number of jazz spouses have worked together on record dates over the decades, though it is still a relatively infrequent occurrence. But flutist Holly Hofmann, a perennial critic's favorite, found a true soul mate in pianist Mike Wofford, as they demonstrate throughout this enjoyable duo concert recorded at the Athenaeum Music & Arts Library in southern California. On this occasion, Hofmann makes her recorded debut playing alto flute on three selections, a reflective "More Than You Know," a risk-taking romp through two infrequently performed Thelonious Monk works ("Intropection" and "Eronel"), and a driving take of the standard "If I Should Lose You" that has a humorous air. Hofmann contributed two originals: "Free Day" is a haunting melody inspired by a fragment from American classical composer Samuel Barber's Adagio for Strings, while "Presentimiento" is a dark, sensuous bossa nova. Wofford wrote the quirky "Floof" for his wife, a demanding chart that is full of sudden twists and turns. Pete Malinverni's "Twelve," full of the playful dissonance and unexpected chords heard in the music of the late Herbie Nichols, is negotiated flawlessly by both Hofmann and Wofford. This intimate concert was recorded acoustically without amplification on the flutes, giving the listener an unforgettable experience similar to those who were able to attend this memorable evening of jazz. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Holly Hofmann

Product Info

  • UPC: 054987408526
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)