Lester Young Lester Young Trio

Lester Young Trio
11 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YGKG
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Polygram Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 8/94, p.131
3 Stars - Good - "...it's wonderful music..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Back to the Land
  • Buy for $1.292.I Cover the Waterfront - (Take One)
  • Buy for $0.993.I Cover the Waterfront - (Take Two)
  • Buy for $0.994.Somebody Loves Me
  • Buy for $0.995.I've Found a New Baby
  • Buy for $0.996.The Man I Love
  • Buy for $0.997.Peg O' My Heart
  • Buy for $0.998.I Want to Be Happy
  • Buy for $0.999.Mean to Me
  • Buy for $0.9910.Back to the Land
  • Buy for $0.9911.I've Found a New Baby
  • Buy for $0.9912.Rosetta
  • Buy for $0.9913.Sweet Lorraine
  • Buy for $0.9914.Blowed and Gone

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Lester Young, Dexter Gordon (tenor saxophone); Harry "Sweets" Edison (trumpet); Nat "King" Cole (piano); Red Callender, Johnny Miller (bass); Buddy Rich, Clifford "Juicy" Owens (drums).
Recorded between 1943 and 1946 in Los Angeles, California. Includes liner notes by Bill Kirchner.
Digitally remastered by Phil Schaap.
Personnel: Lester Young (tenor saxophone).
Recording information: Los Angeles, CA (??/1943-04/1946).
Lester Young's significance in jazz is not hard to gauge. His playing influenced almost every saxophonist that came after him. On this release, we hear Young teamed up with two other jazz legends, drummer Buddy Rich and Nat "King" Cole on piano. Following 10 tracks by this unique trio, we are treated to four additional tunes as performed by a sextet led by Young.
The trio portion of this album is especially lush and intriguing, featuring wonderful renditions of Young's original, "Back to the Land," Gershwin's "The Man I Love," and a duet version of the gorgeous ballad, "Peg O' My Heart" (Rich had gone out to get something to eat). Cole's intimate piano style wonderfully complements Young's light, airy tone and unorthodox phrasing, and Rich, known for a flashy approach, plays quite sensitively here, using brushes on most tunes. Highlights on LESTER YOUNG TRIO include "I Want To Be Happy" and "I've Found a New Baby," the latter of which features the sextet in swinging form.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Lester Young

Product Info

  • UPC: 731452165022
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)