The President Plays With The Oscar Peterson Trio

The President Plays With The Oscar Peterson Trio
28 ratings
Only 5 copies left
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YGK9
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Polygram Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Ad Lib Blues
  • Buy for $0.992.I Can't Get Started
  • 3.Just You, Just Me
  • Buy for $0.994.Almost Like Being In Love
  • 5.Tea For Two
  • Buy for $0.996.There Will Never Be Another You
  • 7.Indiana, (Back Home Again In)
  • Buy for $0.998.On The Sunny Side Of The Street
  • Buy for $0.999.Stardust
  • Buy for $0.9910.I'm Confessin'
  • Buy for $0.9911.I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • Buy for $0.9912.These Foolish Things
  • Buy for $0.9913.Two To Tango (It Takes) / Two To Tango (It Takes) / Two To Tango (It Takes) - (rehearsal/false start chatter/master take)
  • Buy for $0.9914.I Can't Get Started - (previously unreleased, false start)

Product Description:

Full title: Lester Young With The Oscar Peterson Trio.
Personnel: Lester Young (vocals, tenor saxophone); Oscar Peterson (piano); Barney Kessel (guitar); Ray Brown (bass); J. C. Heard (drums).
Recorded in New York, New York in November 1952. Includes liner notes by Douglas Henry Daniels.
Personnel: Lester Young (tenor saxophone); Oscar Peterson (piano); Barney Kessel (bass); J.C. Heard (drums).
It could be argued that the modern saxophonist makes some musical allusion to Lester Young--no matter how remote or indirect--in every solo rendered. On this release (1952), we hear the legendary "President of the saxophone" in great company. One can't get much more polished and refined than the Oscar Peterson Quartet (the album's title is incorrect; we do not hear a trio on this recording).
Indeed, Young is superbly accompanied by Peterson on piano, Barney Kessel on guitar, Ray Brown on bass, and J.C. Heard on drums. Highlights on WITH THE OSCAR PETERSON TRIO include the somber ballad version of "There Will Never Be Another You" and the lively "Tea for Two." Finally, on "(It Takes) Two to Tango" we hear Young singing: a very rare treat. His bawdy improvised lyrics and carefree delivery are quite charming, as are the number of very funny outtakes from the session itself.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 28 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Lester Young

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 97,799
  • UPC: 731452145123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)