Joe Williams The Definitive Joe Williams

The Definitive Joe Williams
7 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JEV2
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: UMVD Labels


  • Buy for $1.291.Every Day I Have the Blues
  • Buy for $1.292.All Right, Okay, You Win
  • Buy for $0.993.Please Send Me Someone to Love
  • Buy for $1.294.Teach Me Tonight
  • Buy for $1.295.Our Love Is Here to Stay
  • Buy for $1.296.Singin' in the Rain
  • Buy for $1.297.Party Blues
  • Buy for $0.998.Roll 'Em, Pete
  • 9.A Man Ain't Supposed to Cry
  • 10.Goin' to Chicago - (Hendricks & Ross)
  • 11.If I Could Be With You One Hour Tonight
  • 12.I Was Telling Her About You
  • 13.Alone Together
  • 14.Until I Met You
  • 15.Come Sunday
  • Buy for $0.9916.Who She Do
  • Buy for $0.9917.Ev'ryday (I'll Fall in Love)
  • Buy for $0.9918.Sometimes I'm Happy
  • Buy for $0.9919.What Are You Doing New Year's Eve?

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Joe Williams, Ella Fitzgerald, Lambert, Hendricks & Ross (vocals); Marshal Royal (alto saxophone); Frank Foster, Billy Mitchell, Frank
Wess (tenor saxophone); Pepper Adams, Charlie Fowlkes (baritone saxophone); Harry "Sweets" Edison, Thad Jones, Joe Newman (trumpet); Count Basie, Hank Jones, Jimmy Jones, Ellis Larkins (piano); Freddie Green (guitar); Richard Davis, George Duvivier, Milt Hinton (bass); Mel Lewis, Sonny Payne (drums); Count Basie Orchestra; Thad Jones-Mel Lewis Orchestra.
Producers include: Buddy Bregman, Norman Granz, Sonny Lester, Bobu Porter, Teddy Reig.
Compilation producer: Ken Druker.
Recorded between 1955 & 1990. Includes liner notes by Ken Druker.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
The Definitive Joe Williams takes a look back at the illustrious career of one of the greatest singers in the history of music. The 19 tracks are drawn from his two stints recording for Verve and his prolific stay with Roulette. The CD kicks off with four tracks from the great Count Basie Swings, Joe Williams Sings record from 1955 including spectacular versions of "Every Day I Have the Blues" and "All Right, Okay, You Win" that leave no doubt in the listener's mind that Joe Williams could swing until the cows, chickens, and even ducks came home. Two songs, one of which is the rockingest version of "Singin' in the Rain" you'll likely ever hear, from the follow-up record from 1956, The Greatest! Count Basie Plays, Joe Williams Sings Standards, are next, followed by a duet with Ella Fitzgerald. They both show off their prodigious scat talents, and Ella wins the duel but only just. Williams left Basie in the late '50s and signed with Roulette. His music still had tons of swing, but he also delved into pop songs and lush balladry. Tracks like 1958's "If I Could Be With You One Hour Tonight" demonstrate the tender side of Williams, romantic but not mushy, nothing but perfect love songs. His trumpet man of choice was Harry "Sweets" Edison on many of his Roulette dates: four of the tracks collected here feature Edison's sweet tone. After a heartstring-tugging take on Ellington's "Come Sunday" with the Mel Lewis/Thad Jones big band recorded in 1966, the CD has three tracks from Williams' triumphant return to the Verve label in the late '80s. The live, small group setting is perfect for his still strong voice. The disc ends with a quietly swinging take on the holiday chestnut "What Are You Doing New Year's Eve?" with Williams backed by the piano of Ellis Larkins. This disc is a great summing up of a great career. Fans of Williams and fans of vocal jazz alike will find this CD a real kick. ~ Tim Sendra

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Joe Williams

Product Info

  • UPC: 731458984627
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)