Dinah Washington Compact Jazz: Dinah Washington

Compact Jazz: Dinah Washington
5 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JEKF
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1990
  • Label: Polygram Records


  • Buy for $1.291.What A Difference A Day Makes
  • Buy for $0.992.I Could Write A Book
  • Buy for $0.993.Make Me A Present Of You
  • Buy for $0.994.Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
  • Buy for $0.995.I Wanna Be Loved
  • Buy for $0.996.Manhattan
  • Buy for $0.997.I've Got You Under My Skin
  • Buy for $0.998.I Remember Clifford
  • Buy for $0.999.Unforgettable
  • Buy for $0.9910.Easy Living
  • Buy for $0.9911.Backwater Blues
  • Buy for $0.9912.If I Were A Bell
  • Buy for $0.9913.Teach Me Tonight
  • Buy for $0.9914.Keepin' Out Of Mischief Now
  • Buy for $0.9915.All Of Me
  • Buy for $1.2916.This Bitter Earth

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Dinah Washington (vocals); Julian "Cannonball" Adderley (alto saxophone); Clark Terry, Doc Sevrinsen, Ernie Royal, Clifford Brown, Maynard Ferguson (trumpet); Julian Priester (trombone); Wynton Kelly, Junior Mance (piano); Freddie Green (guitar); Max Roach (drums).
Producers: Bob Shad, Quincy Jones, Clyde Otis.
Recorded between 1955 & 1961. Includes liner notes by James Isaacs.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Dinah Washington (vocals); Ernie Wilkins (vocals); Freddie Green, Barry Galbraith (guitar); Jimmy Cobb (strings, drums); Jerome Richardson (flute, reeds, alto saxophone); Sahib Shihab (reeds, alto saxophone); Eddie Chamblee, Frank Wess, Benny Golson (reeds, tenor saxophone); Cannonball Adderley (alto saxophone); Harold Ousley, Paul Quinichette (tenor saxophone); Cecil Payne, Charles Davis (baritone saxophone); Clark Terry, Clifford Brown , Reunald Jones, Doc Severinsen, Ernie Royal, Joe Newman , Johnny Coles, Maynard Ferguson, Ray Copeland , Blue Mitchell, Charlie Shavers (trumpet); Sonny Russo, Rod Levitt, Jimmy Cleveland, Julian Priester, Melba Liston, Urbie Green, Billy Byers (trombone); Jack Wilson , Junior Mance, Wynton Kelly (piano); Terry Gibbs (vibraphone); Max Roach, Richard Evans , Charlie Persip (drums).
Audio Remasterers: Dennis Drake; Mark Wilder.
Liner Note Author: James Isaacs.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (1954-1961); Jazz Festival, Newport, RI (1954-1961); Los Angeles, CA (1954-1961); New York, NY (1954-1961); Newport, RI (1954-1961).
Unknown Contributor Roles: Ernie Wilkins; Hal Mooney; Max Roach; Quincy Jones; Belford Hendricks.
Arrangers: Nat Goodman; Fred Norman; Melba Liston; Quincy Jones; Belford Hendricks.
Not quite as fine as Sarah Vaughan's Compact Jazz disc, this Verve roundup still nicely frames Dinah Washington's stay at the label with a fetching array of her best cuts from the '50s and early '60s. Taking in some of Washington's best-known pop songs ("What a Difference a Day Makes"), the disc touches on her excellent Fats Waller ("Keepin' out of Mischief Now") and Bessie Smith ("Backwater Blues") songbooks, while also including something from a fiery live date with Clifford Brown ("I've Got You Under My Skin"). And this is not to forget a handful of finely gauged readings of such perennials as "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes," "Easy Living," and "I Could Write a Book." Topped off with fine support by a bevy of top players, Compact Jazz: Dinah Washington makes for the ideal introductory disc. ~ Stephen Cook

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Dinah Washington

Product Info

  • UPC: 042283070028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)