Dinah Washington First Issue: The Dinah Washington Story (The Original Recordings) (2-CD)

First Issue: The Dinah Washington Story (The
11 ratings
Price: $20.68
List Price: $22.98
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  JEHS
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Polygram Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 7/16/93, p.59
"...Wisely emphasizing the jazz-oriented material and small-band settings that best suited her cynically sophisticated style, FIRST ISSUE is marred only by some really annoying surface noise..." - Rating: A-
Musician - 10/93, p.93
"...[FIRST ISSUE] neatly encapsulates [Dinah Washington's] achievements...every style is represented here, and her force-of-nature approach is seldom less than magical..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Evil Gal Blues
  • Buy for $0.992.Salty Papa Blues
  • Buy for $0.993.Embraceable You
  • Buy for $0.994.Slick Chick, A (On the Mellow Side)
  • Buy for $0.995.Postman Blues
  • Buy for $0.996.That's Why a Woman Loves a Heel
  • 7.Walkin' and Talkin'
  • 8.Record Ban Blues
  • 9.After I Say I'm Sorry? (What Can I Say, Dear)
  • Buy for $0.9910.I'll Wait
  • Buy for $0.9911.Good Daddy Blues
  • Buy for $0.9912.I Only Know
  • Buy for $0.9913.Baby Get Lost
  • Buy for $0.9914.It Isn't Fair
  • 15.I'll Never Be Free
  • Buy for $0.9916.I Wanna Be Loved
  • Buy for $0.6917.Time Out For Tears
  • Buy for $0.9918.I Won't Cry Anymore
  • Buy for $0.9919.New Blowtop Blues
  • Buy for $0.9920.Wheel of Fortune
  • Buy for $0.9921.Trouble in Mind
  • Buy for $0.9922.I Cried For You
  • Buy for $0.9923.T.V. Is the Thing This Year
  • 24.Am I Blue?
  • 25.Blue Skies

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Love For Sale
  • Buy for $0.992.I've Got You Under My Skin
  • Buy for $0.993.I Don't Hurt Anymore
  • Buy for $0.994.Crazy He Calls Me
  • 5.Lover, Come Back to Me
  • Buy for $0.996.Teach Me Tonight
  • Buy for $0.997.Blue Gardenia
  • Buy for $0.998.Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
  • Buy for $0.999.If I Had You
  • Buy for $0.9910.Sometimes I'm Happy
  • Buy for $0.9911.Keepin' Out of Mischief Now
  • Buy for $0.9912.Back Water Blues
  • Buy for $0.9913.All of Me
  • Buy for $1.2914.What a Diff'rence a Day Made
  • Buy for $0.9915.Unforgettable
  • Buy for $0.9916.Baby, You've Got What It Takes
  • 17.Rockin' Good Way, A (To Mess Around and Fall in Love)
  • 18.A Bad Case of the Blues
  • Buy for $1.2919.This Bitter Earth
  • Buy for $0.9920.September in the Rain
  • Buy for $0.9921.Mad About the Boy

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Dinah Washington, Brook Benton (vocals); Cannonball Adderley (alto saxophone); Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis (tenor saxophone); Maynard Ferguson, Clifford Brown, Doc Severinsen, Quincy Jones, Clark Terry (trumpets); Mitch Miller (oboe); Terry Gibbs (vibraphone); Lionel Hampton (vibraphone, drums); Wynton Kelly, Beryl Booker (piano); Jackie Davis (organ); George Morrow, Keter Betts (bass); Max Roach, Ed Thigpen (drums).
Producers include: Quincy Jones, Hal Mooney, Clyde Otis, Bob Shad, Leonard Feather.
Compilation producer: Chris Albertson.
FIRST ISSUE contains 46 tracks presented in roughly chronological order beginning with Dinah Washington's first recordings for Keynote with Lionel Hampton in 1944 and concluding with her Mercury tracks from 1961. This 2-CD set includes never-before-published photos by Chuck Stewart, plus liner notes and annotations by jazz historian Chris Albertson.
First Issue, which coincided with the United States Postal Service's issue of a stamp bearing the image of Dinah Washington, is a two-disc, 46-song anthology of her recordings for Keynote, Mercury, Verve, Wing, and EmArcy from 1943-1961. The set chronicles Washington's evolution from a strictly jazz and blues vocalist in the Bessie Smith tradition to an important crossover artist who could appeal equally to the pop audience. The collection is not entirely hit-oriented -- although it rounds up her important R&B and pop singles, including the crossover hits "What a Diff'rence a Day Made" and "Baby, You've Got What It Takes" (a duet with Brook Benton), there is also an early bluesy session with Lionel Hampton and a few notable album tracks that show the variety of material she handled. Some of her Top Ten R&B hits are omitted, but Washington was a prolific hitmaker beyond that which a two-disc set can contain. Washington recorded nearly 500 sides during the period covered by First Issue, and this generous survey is an excellent compromise for buyers wanting a thorough anthology but who are unwilling to commit to the expensive series of box sets that comprise The Complete Dinah Washington on Mercury. ~ Greg Adams

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Dinah Washington

Product Info

  • UPC: 731451484124
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)