McCoy Tyner Supertrios

5 ratings
Only 6 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  JEFA
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Milestone


  • 1.Wave
  • Buy for $0.992.Blues on the Corner
  • Buy for $0.993.I Mean You
  • 4.The Greeting
  • Buy for $0.995.Prelude to a Kiss
  • Buy for $0.996.Moment's Notice
  • Buy for $0.997.Hymn-Song
  • 8.Consensus
  • Buy for $0.999.Four by Five
  • 10.Stella by Starlight
  • Buy for $0.9911.Lush Life
  • Buy for $0.9912.Blues for Ball

Product Description:

Personnel: McCoy Tyner (piano); Ron Carter, Eddie Gomez (bass); Tony Williams, Jack DeJohnette (drums).
Recorded at Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California, April 9-12, 1977. Includes original liner notes by Orrin Keepnews.
Personnel: McCoy Tyner (piano); Jack DeJohnette, Tony Williams (drums).
Recording information: Berkeley, CA (04/09/1977-04/12/1977); Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, CA (04/09/1977-04/12/1977).
Unknown Contributor Roles: Eddie Gomez ; Jack DeJohnette; Ron Carter ; Tony Williams .
The concept behind this 1977 McCoy Tyner album is an interesting one: one pianist, two different piano trios. Producer Orrin Keepnews had recently recorded Tyner in a trio setting (1975's "Trident," with Elvin Jones and Ron Carter). Looking for variety, he hit upon the idea of teaming the pianist with two different rhythm sections.
The opening track is Antonio Carlos Jobim's "Wave." Drummer Tony Williams's off-center virtuosity is a good foil for Tyner, an exceptionally grounded pianist who tends to make music of a uniform density. Williams leaves holes in odd places, creating unexpected ebbs and flows, and the result proves even more exciting than Tyner's prior trio recording. Eddie Gomez and Jack DeJohnette bring different qualities to the table. Gomez is a melodic bassist with a unique tone and long, arching, phrases (no doubt a result of his work with Bill Evans), while Jack DeJohnette has a funky implied beat and a musically radical sensibility. This trio's most successful cut is a Tyner original, "Consensus," the freest music the pianist has made since his stint with Coltrane.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for McCoy Tyner

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 132,322
  • UPC: 025218550321
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)