Lennie Niehaus Octet Complete Fifties Recordings V.1 (Quintet & Octet)

Rating 4.7
3 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
List Price: $19.98
Your Price: $17.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  LONE 10238

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: May 22, 2006
  • Label: Lonehill Jazz Spain


  • 1.I'll Take Romance
  • 2.Prime Rib
  • 3.Inside Out
  • 4.Bottoms Up
  • 5.You Stepped out of a Dream
  • 6.Whose Blues?
  • 7.I Remember You
  • 8.Day by Day
  • 9.Figure 8
  • 10.How About You?
  • 11.Patty-Cake
  • 12.The Way You Look Tonight
  • 13.Seaside
  • 14.The Night We Called It a Day
  • 15.Have You Met Miss Jones?
  • 16.Night Life
  • 17.Rick's Truck
  • 18.Bunko
  • 19.Nice Work If You Can Get It
  • 20.You and the Night and the Music

Product Description:

Personnel: Lennie Niehaus, Bill Holman, Jimmy Giuffre, Stu Williamson, Bob Enevoldsen, Pete Jolly, Monty Budwig, Shelly Manne.
Originally released on Contemporary (3503).
Personnel: Lennie Niehaus (alto saxophone); Jack Montrose, Bill Holman (tenor saxophone); Jimmy Giuffre (baritone saxophone); Stu Williamson (trumpet); Bob Enevoldsen (valve trombone); Lou Levy, Pete Jolly (piano); Shelly Manne (drums).
Liner Note Authors: John Flanagan; Arnold Shaw; Lennie Niehaus.
Recording information: Hollywood, CA (07/1954-01/1955); Los Angeles, CA (07/1954-01/1955).
For this CD reissue, Lennie Niehaus contributed five originals (including "Rick's Tricks" and "Circling the Blues") plus creative reworkings of six veteran standards and an obscurity called "Yes, Yes, Honey." The lineup of musicians is virtually a who's who of West Coast jazz (altoist Niehaus, tenor saxophonist Bill Holman, baritonist Jimmy Giuffre, trumpeter Stu Williamson, valve trombonist Bob Enevoldsen, pianist Pete Jolly, bassist Monty Budwig and drummer Shelly Manne), and the charts are both swinging and filled with some subtle surprises and occasional unusual tone colors. Well worth checking out, as are Niehaus' other valuable Contemporary sessions of the 1950s. ~ Scott Yanow
RadioIO Offer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Lennie Niehaus Octet

Product Info:

  • UPC: 8436019582381
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item