Complete Studio Recordings

Complete Studio Recordings
1 rating
Price: $14.39
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YH8S
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: December 5, 2005
  • Label: Lonehill Jazz Spain


  • 1.Down and Dirty
  • 2.Alone Together
  • 3.Criss Cross
  • 4.Gone With The Wind
  • 5.Pon Su
  • 6.Makin' Whoopee
  • 7.Isn't It Romantic?
  • 8.For Art's Sake
  • 9.Old Devil Moon
  • 10.When Your Lover Has Gone
  • 11.This Time The Dream's On Me
  • 12.Just Leave It Alone
  • 13.Blues Train
  • 14.It Never Entered My Mind
  • 15.Yesterdays
  • 16.Sing Song
  • 17.You're My Thrill
  • 18.Stratusphunk
  • 19.End of A Love Affair

Product Description:

Personnel: Art Farmer (trumpet); Hal McKusick (clarinet, bass clarinet, alto saxophone); Barry Galbraith (guitar); Eddie Costa, Bill Evans (piano); Gus Johnson , Osie Johnson, Charlie Persip (drums).
Liner Note Author: Arthur Kramer.
Recording information: New York, NY (02/04/1957-04/07/1958).
Arrangers: Jimmy Giuffre; Al Cohn; Manny Albam; Art Farmer.
This Lone Hill compilation collects all of the quintet studio recordings made together by Art Farmer and Hal McKusick, covering four different groups, each with a unique rhythm section. Farmer was still playing trumpet, prior to his switch to flugelhorn, while the alto saxophonist also doubles on clarinet and bass clarinet. The bulk of the album features the two men with pianist Eddie Costa, bassist Milt Hinton, and drummer Gus Johnson, with Al Cohn and Manny Albam contributing most of the arrangements. It is immediately apparent that the co-leaders have a natural ability to complement one another with perfect backing for the other's solos, highlighted by the magical take of "Alone Together." The next session features two originals written and arranged by Jimmy Giuffre, with guitarist Barry Galbraith, bassist Teddy Kotick, and drummer Osie Johnson providing rhythm. Both of these cool-toned pieces have a touch of mystery and are beautifully interpreted. Giuffre is also the arranger for three pieces featuring Bill Evans, Paul Chambers, and Connie Kay with the leaders, with McKusick's bass clarinet taking solo honors in "It Never Entered My Mind." The last three tracks also include Evans, expanding the group to a sextet with Galbraith, Hinton, and Charlie Persip joining Farmer and McKusick. George Russell is the arranger, with a swaggering yet cool take of Russell's "Stratusphunk" standing out. Recommended. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 8436019582237
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)