Les Paul Crazy Rhythm

Crazy Rhythm
7 ratings
Only 4 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YH6A
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: August 23, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Varese Sarabande


  • 1.Who's Sorry Now?
  • 2.You Took Advantage of Me
  • 3.For You
  • 4.What Is This Thing Called Love?
  • 5.I Never Knew
  • 6.Won't You Tell Me
  • 7.It's Only a Paper Moon
  • 8.Nice Work If You Can Get It
  • 9.I Can't Believe That You're in Love with Me
  • 10.The Man I Love
  • 11.Crazy Rhythm
  • 12.'Deed I Do
  • 13.Lazy River
  • 14.Melodic Meal
  • 15.It Had to Be You
  • 16.My Future Just Passed - (featuring Kay Starr / Joe Venuti)
  • 17.There's a Lull in My Life - (featuring Kay Starr / Joe Venuti)
  • 18.What a Diff'rence a Day Made - (featuring Kay Starr / Joe Venuti)

Product Description:

Les Paul: Les Paul.
Personnel: Les Paul (guitar); Kay Starr (vocals); Joe Venutti (violin); Bob Armstrong (piano).
Additional personnel: Joe Venuti (violin); Kay Starr.
Recording information: C.P. MacGregor Recording Studio, Hollywood, CA (1944-1945).
It's virtually impossible to imagine modern music without the contributions of Les Paul. Not only was he a brilliant jazz guitarist with no fear of pop or country, he literally laid the framework for how a good electric guitar should be made when he designed his famous Les Paul model for Gibson Guitars. Add in the fact that he single-handedly invented multi-track recording with the release of "Lover" in 1948, and his influence is pervasive, if not always acknowledged, even in today's 21st century hip-hop world. This delightful collection brings together rare 16" radio transcription discs Paul did in 1944 and 1945, shortly after he was discharged from the U.S. Armed Forces. Although billed as a trio, the band here is really a quartet, with Paul on lead guitar, Cal Gooden, Jr. on rhythm guitar, Clint Nordquist on upright bass, and probably Bob Armstrong on piano (Paul used several piano players during this time period, but Armstrong is the most likely candidate for these sessions). The music is smooth and elegant swing, featuring delightfully unexpected stops, starts, and redirects, all tempered by Paul's liquid guitar lines, full of brilliant sustained notes. Highlights include a cover of Isham Jones' 1923 hit "Who's Sorry Now" (which became an even bigger hit for Connie Francis in 1958), an expansive version of Cole Porter's "What Is This Thing Called Love," and an elegant take on Hoagy Carmichael's "Lazy River." The real treats, though, are the three tracks that close the disc, featuring Paul's band plus vocals from the sultry Kay Starr and the violin playing of the great Joe Venuti. Smooth and fresh as rainwater running off a leaf, the transcriptions that make up Crazy Rhythm don't sound dated at all, and the sound is clear as a bell. Paul's most innovative and representative recordings were still in the future when these sessions were held, but the joyful elegance in his playing was already well established. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Les Paul

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,643
  • UPC: 030206667226
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)