Mel Tormé The Great American Songbook: Live at Michael's Pub

The Great American Songbook: Live at Michael's Pub
6 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  TLR 833282
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Telarc

Entertainment Reviews:

Stereo Review (2/94, p.146) - Performance: Compelling / Recording: Fine Remote - "...Torme's velvety voice is as compelling as ever, and his timing is perfect; he has the swing and improvisational skill of a fine jazz instrumentalist, and his love for the material he sings is made abundantly clear with every phrase...."


  • Buy for $0.991.You Gotta Try
  • Buy for $0.992.Ridin' High / I'm Shootin' High
  • Buy for $0.993.You Make Me Feel So Young
  • Buy for $0.994.Stardust
  • Buy for $0.995.I'm Gonna Go Fishin'
  • Buy for $0.996.Don't Get Around Much Anymore / I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart
  • Buy for $0.997.Sophisticated Lady / I Didn't Know About You
  • Buy for $0.998.Rockin' in Rhythm
  • 9.It Don't Mean a Thing If It Ain't Got That Swing
  • Buy for $0.9910.A Lovely Way to Spend an Evening
  • Buy for $0.9911.I'll Remember April / I Concentrate On You
  • Buy for $0.9912.Autumn in New York
  • Buy for $0.9913.Just One Of Those Things / Green Dolphin Street
  • Buy for $0.9914.All God's Chillun' Got Rhythm
  • Buy for $0.9915.The Party's Over

Product Description:

Mel Torm‚, 67 at the time of this recording, proves to still be very much in his musical prime. His range remains impressive, his creative abilities have grown through the years and his breath control is remarkable; as proof Torm‚ holds some very long notes at the conclusion of some of the ballads. This live set finds Torm‚ backed by what he dubbed "the Great American Songbook Orchestra," his usual trio plus a dozen horns. The band gets "Ya Gotta Try" as an instrumental and Torm‚ sits in on drums on "Rockin' in Rhythm" but otherwise the orchestra sticks to its anonymous role in the background. The singer wrote ten of the 15 arrangements and programmed plenty of variety in moods and tempos for his voice including a seven-song Duke Ellington mini-set. His masterful interpretation of "Stardust" is a highpoint. Recommended. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Mel Tormé

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 70,007
  • UPC: 089408332821
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)