Johnny Lytle The Loop / New and Groovy

The Loop / New and Groovy
2 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.35 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.64 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YH53
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 1, 1990
  • Label: Beat Goes Public Bgp


  • 1.The Loop
  • 2.The More I See You
  • 3.The Man
  • 4.Time After Time
  • 5.Big Bill
  • 6.Possum Grease
  • 7.Cristo Redentor
  • 8.The Shyster
  • 9.My Romance
  • 10.Hot Sauce
  • 11.The Snapper
  • 12.Summertime
  • 13.Selim
  • 14.The Shadow of Your Smile
  • 15.Come and Get It
  • 16.The Pulpit
  • 17.Too Close for Comfort
  • 18.Chanukah
  • 19.Screamin' Loud
  • 20.Marcel, El

Product Description:

Originally released on 2 separate LPs.
Contains 20 tracks.
Recording information: ??/??/1965-01/22/1966.
This is one of Johnny Lytle's more prized recordings, featuring a slew of classic compositions. The title track is a peppy, pop-flavored number that has a relaxing feel about it. Lytle displays his ability to pick and choose the notes which allows a song to blossom, like he does on the standard "The More I See You." Wynton Kelly, Miles Davis' former pianist, complements Lytle's every eloquent execution of the vibes, and percussionist Willie Rodriguez maintains that Cuban rhythm with his congas. In 1966, when this album was released, "The Man" was the featured release; with its street texture, this song is ideal for the likes of a James Bond flick. The constant cadence of this number is augmented by Lytle's masterful manipulation of his mallets tapping on the vibraphone. The vibes virtuoso comes back on the midtempo "Time After Time" and exudes a tender melody on this heart-warming number. And he cooks up a suspenseful, simmering interpretation of "Cristo Redentor" utilizing the less vibrating sound of the marimba. Kelly's fluency of the piano is heard on all the tracks except for the "The Loop," "Possum Grease," and "Hot Sauce." Milt Harris' aggressive, yet meticulous organ playing maintains a soul-stirring rhythm in between his chord changes, and Rodriguez's congas accent each track with a Latin-flavored beat. For mellow, moderate, or uptempo numbers, this is one groovin' album in the vein of hard bop. ~ Craig Lytle

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Johnny Lytle

Product Info

  • UPC: 029667196123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)