Jane Monheit Live at the Rainbow Room

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.2
19 ratings
List Price: $17.98
Your Price: $16.18
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  NKEC 4249

CD Details

  • Released: December 9, 2003
  • Label: Encoded Music


  • 1.Intro
  • 2.Over the Rainbow
  • 3.Just Squeeze Me
  • 4.Chega de Saudade (No More Blues)
  • 5.Dindi
  • 6.More Than You Know
  • 7.Since You've Asked
  • 8.It Might as Well Be Spring
  • 9.Tea For Two
  • 10.Hit the Road to Dreamland
  • 11.Comecar de Novo
  • 12.It Never Entered My Mind
  • 13.Turn Out the Stars
  • 14.Haunted Heart
  • 15.Cheek to Cheek
  • 16.Waters of March
  • 17.Some Other Time

Product Description:

Personnel: Jane Monheit (vocals); Alan Broadbent (conductor, piano); Joel Frahm (tenor saxophone); Peter Eldridge, Kenny Ascher, Michael Kanan (piano); Rene Toledo (nylon string guitar); Ron Carter (acoustic bass); Kenny Washington (drums).
Recorded live at The Rainbow Room, New York, New York on September 23, 2002.
Recorded at the famous New York City restaurant on the 65th floor of Thirty Rockefeller Plaza, Live at the Rainbow Room features jazz vocalist Jane Monheit backed by a 31-piece orchestra conducted by Alan Broadbent along with a solid small jazz ensemble featuring, among others, pianist Michael Kanan, bassist Ron Carter, and drummer Kenny Washington. A glamorous singer whose cool pin-up persona calls to mind such '50s icons as June Christy and Julie London, Monheit is also an extremely capable singer. Although her understated approach does not incorporate vocalese or instrument-like solos, her crystalline voice and impeccable phrasing should appeal to fans of mainstream modern jazz and American popular songcraft. Throughout the night Monheit delivers classy and sultry versions of such standards as "Just Squeeze Me" and "It Might as Well Be Spring" as well as tackles such bossa nova classics as "Dindi" and "Waters of March" -- a song she refers to as her favorite to perform. ~ Matt Collar

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 19 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Jane Monheit

Product Info:

  • UPC: 026656424922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.15/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item