Emmett Berry New York Recordings

New York Recordings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YH2F
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Lonehill Jazz Spain


  • 1.C Jam Blues
  • 2.Farewell Blues
  • 3.Surrey With A Fringe On Top
  • 4.Oklahoma
  • 5.Oh What A Beautiful Morning
  • 6.People Will Say Wer're In Love
  • 7.Le Grande Rompe
  • 8.Fidgety Feet
  • 9.Basin Street Blues
  • 10.Muskrat Ramble
  • 11.How Come You Do Like Me Like You Do?
  • 12.Struttin' With Some Barbeque
  • 13.Yellow Dog Blues
  • 14.Sunday
  • 15.St. Louis Blues

Product Description:

NEW YORK RECORDINGS features the work of jazz musician Emmett Berry.
Personnel: Emmett Berry (trumpet); Bucky Pizzarelli (guitar, banjo); Buster Bailey (clarinet); Rex Stewart (cornet); Vic Dickenson (trombone); Al Lucas (tuba); Red Richards (piano).
Liner Note Author: Arthur Kramer.
Recording information: New York, NY (1958).
Authors: Count Basie; Miles Davis; Ruby Braff ; Woody Allen.
Although active for decades as a sideman, trumpeter Emmett Berry apparently never made a record as a leader. In 1994 the Lone Hill Jazz label brought out The New York Recordings as a sort of posthumous tribute album. This music materialized on May 22, 1958, when drummer Bobby Donaldson put together an eight-piece session band for the World Wide record label with Berry front-lining alongside cornetist Rex Stewart, clarinetist Buster Bailey, and trombonist Vic Dickenson. Drawing upon the standard traditional jazz repertoire of blues, Dixieland, and swing tunes, this hot little band also handled four melodies from the Rodgers & Hammerstein Broadway musical Oklahoma! Highlights include Red Richards' piano throughout the session, a campy handling of "Surrey with the Fringe on Top" with Bucky Pizzarelli playing the banjo, and "Oh, What a Beautiful Morning," a feature for Vic Dickenson's wonderfully frowsy trombone. This eminently satisfying album also contains some of the very best clarinet improvisations that Buster Bailey ever performed in front of a microphone. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 8436019581315
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)