Bobby Timmons The Prestige Trio Sessions

The Prestige Trio Sessions
3 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  3659Q
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Prestige


  • 1.A Little Barefoot Soul
  • 2.Walkin'-Wadin'-Sittin'-Ridin'
  • 3.Little One
  • 4.Cut Me Loose Charlie
  • 5.Ain't Thinkin' 'Bout It
  • 6.Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen
  • 7.Chun-King
  • 8.Walking Death
  • 9.O Grande Amor
  • 10.Gettin' It Togetha'
  • 11.I Could Have Danced All Night
  • 12.Someone to Watch Over Me

Product Description:

Personnel: Bobby Timmons (piano); Sam Jones, Keter Betts (bass); Albert "Tootie" Heath, Ray Lucas (drums).
Recorded at Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on June 18, 1964 and August 12, 1964.
Audio Remasterer: Kirk Felton.
Liner Note Authors: Joel Dorn; Chris Albertson.
Recording information: Van Gelder's Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (06/18/1964-08/12/1964).
This CD reissue combines two long-available Prestige LPs by Bobby Timmons, Little Barefoot Soul and Chun-King. The first date was actually the pianist's debut for the label, and it nearly didn't take place at all. A quintet session suddenly turned into a trio with bassist Sam Jones and Ray Lucas, the latter a last minute substitution on drums. Although Timmons' jazz immortality was assured with his earlier hit "Moanin'," most of the originals sound as if they were written shortly beforehand and were still evolving. The standout among them is easily
"A Little Barefoot Soul," a piece which gets underway without the leader at all. But its catchy gospel flavor eventually gives way to a driving, bluesy hard bop setting. Timmons' solo interpretation of the spiritual "Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen" is another gem. The later 1964 session matches Timmons with bassist Keter Betts and drummer Tootie Heath and draws from a much wider range of material. The opener, "Chun-King," was co-written by Betts with Charlie Byrd and features an extensive bass solo. Timmons contributed two compositions, the gospel-inflected "Getting' It Togetha'" (with the call and response played by the pianist alone) and the happy, strutting, and very oddly titled blues "Walking Death." Rounding out the date are some very familiar works, including the bossa nova " "O Grande Amour" and the standards "I Could Have Danced All Night" and "Someone to Watch Over Me." Timmons' fans will rejoice with the return of this long out of print music. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Bobby Timmons

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218527729
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)