Bobby Timmons Moanin' Blues

Moanin' Blues
5 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  3659J
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Prestige


  • 1.Moanin'
  • 2.Trick Hips
  • 3.Dat Dere
  • 4.Soul Time
  • 5.Bags' Groove
  • 6.So Tired
  • 7.This Here
  • 8.Pretty Memory
  • 9.A Little Busy
  • 10.Born to Be Blue
  • 11.Know Not One
  • 12.Stella B.

Product Description:

Personnel: Bobby Timmons (piano); Blue Mitchell (trumpet); Johnny Lytle (vibraphone); Connie Kay, Jimmy Cobb , Art Blakey (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Kirk Felton.
Liner Note Author: Neil Tesser.
Recording information: Plaza Sound Studios, New York, NY (01/13/1960-10/21/1964); Reeves Sound Studios, New York, NY (01/13/1960-10/21/1964); Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (01/13/1960-10/21/1964).
As an all-on-one-disc survey of the young composer-laureate of the funky school, this compilation will do very nicely. Drawing from four of Timmons' Riverside albums and one on Prestige, all the tunes are by Timmons save "Bags' Groove" and "Born To Be Blue"; the former takes us into the more advanced harmonic territory that Timmons was starting to explore in 1964. All three of his signature pieces, "Moanin," "This Here" and "Dat Dere," from Timmons' first recording as a leader, are here -- good tunes all, done with as much unself-conscious soul and ‚lan as the far-better-known hit versions by former employers Art Blakey and Cannonball Adderley. Not only does the collection spotlight some instantly memorable gems that did not become well-known -- with apologies to Brando, "So Tired" shoulda been a contender -- it presents Timmons as a very likable pianist in the funk and bop idioms, with an emphatic touch and a penchant for not overplaying his hand with too many notes. And as for anyone who persists upon condemning this swinging musician as "just a funky piano player," the obvious riposte is, "And what's wrong with that?" ~ Richard S. Ginell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Bobby Timmons

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218311625
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)