Louis Armstrong Meets Oscar Peterson

Louis Armstrong Meets Oscar Peterson
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  36582
on most orders of $35+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Label: Essential Jazz Album


  • 1.That Old Feeling
  • 2.Let's Fall In Love
  • 3.I'll Never Be The Same
  • 4.Blues In The Night
  • 5.How Long Has This Been Going On
  • 6.I Was Doing All Right
  • 7.What's New
  • 8.Moon Song
  • 9.Just One of Those Things
  • 10.There's No You
  • 11.You Go To My Head
  • 12.Sweet Lorraine
  • 13.Indiana
  • 14.Let's Fall In Love [Alternate Version] - (alternate take)
  • 15.I Get a Kick Out of You
  • 16.Makin' Whoopee
  • 17.Willow Weep For Me
  • 18.Let's Do It (Let's Fall In Love)

Product Description:

Personnel: Louis Armstrong (vocals, trumpet); Oscar Peterson (piano); Herb Ellis (guitar); Ray Brown (bass); Louie Bellson (drums).
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
This is part of the Verve Master Edition series.
Personnel: Louis Armstrong (vocals, trumpet); Oscar Peterson (piano); Herb Ellis (guitar); Louie Bellson (drums).
Liner Note Author: Bernard Lee.
Recording information: Chicago (07/31/1957); Los Angeles (07/31/1957); Chicago (10/14/1957); Los Angeles (10/14/1957).
Since Louis Armstrong just about invented jazz vocals if not popular singing itself, it was inevitable (and fortunate) that someone like producer Norman Granz would set Armstrong down in the studio with a modern '50s combo like Oscar Peterson's trio and watch the seminal musician strut his stuff. Aside from the Dixieland-derived All-Stars live show, Armstrong spent most of the late '40s and early '50s singing it straight for Milt Gabler at Decca Records. Here at Verve in 1957, Satchmo finally gets to ease up a little and stretch those famous gravelly vocal chords on a collection of romantic standards. Unlike Fats Waller, Armstrong rarely undermined the message of a love song with virtuoso clowning. For instance, he provided a wonderfully romantic foil to Ella Fitzgerald on their essential duet sessions. On his own, he proves to be a rhythmically adept contemporary troubadour with such deeply melodic material as "I'll Never Be the Same," "Moon Song," and "You Go to My Head." It should be noted that the earthy Louis gets the last word on the eight-minute version of Cole Porter's "Let's Do It" that closes the set.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Louis Armstrong

Product Info

  • UPC: 8436019580400
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)