3 ratings
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  3657K
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Grp Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Bulbs - (with Cecil Taylor Unit)
  • Buy for $0.992.Pots - (with Cecil Taylor Unit)
  • 3.Mixed - (with Cecil Taylor Unit)
  • 4.Everywhere - (with The Roswell Rudd Sextet)
  • 5.Yankee No-How - (with The Roswell Rudd Sextet)
  • 6.Respects - (with The Roswell Rudd Sextet)
  • 7.Satan's Dance - (with The Roswell Rudd Sextet)

Product Description:

Full performer name: The Cecil Taylor Unit/Roswell Rudd Sextet.
This collection contains the complete EVERYWHERE by Roswell Rudd Sextet as well as tracks Cecil Taylor recorded for Gil Evans' INTO THE HOT.
The Cecil Taylor Unit: Cecil Taylor (piano); Jimmy Lyons (alto saxophone); Archie Shepp (tenor saxophone); Ted Curson (trumpet); Roswell Rudd (trombone); Henry Grimes (bass); Sunny Murray (drums).
Roswell Rudd Sextet: Roswell Rudd (trombone); Robin Kenyatta (alto saxophone); Giuseppi Logan (flute, bass clarinet); Charlie Haden, Lewis Worrell (bass); Beaver Harris (drums).
Producers: Gil Evans, Creed Taylor, Bob Thiele, Roswell Rudd.
Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
Engineers include: Bob Arnold.
Recorded in New York, New York on October 10, 1961 and July 8, 1966. Tracks 1-3 originally issued as Impulse (9). Tracks 4-7 originally issued as Impulse (9126). Includes liner notes by Michael Cuscuna and Nat Hentoff.
Digitally remastered by Erick Labson using 20-bit technology at MCA Studios.
This is part of Impulse's The New Thing Series.
Personnel: Cecil Taylor (piano); Giuseppi Logan (flute); Jimmy Lyons, Robin Kenyatta (alto saxophone); Archie Shepp (tenor saxophone); Ted Curson (trumpet); Roswell Rudd (trombone); Sunny Murray, Beaver Harris (drums).
Liner Note Author: Nat Hentoff.
Recording information: Capitol Studios, New York, NY (10/10/1961/07/08/1966).
Photographer: Raymond Ross.
This CD serves up two very different slices of free jazz. The first three cuts are by The Cecil Taylor Unit, and were recorded in 1961 (originally issued on a Gil Evans album called INTO THE HOT). The last four cuts are by the Roswell Rudd Sextet and were recorded in 1966 (originally issued as ROSWELL RUDD'S EVERYWHERE). The Cecil Taylor selections really represent the second phase in his recording career. His first few albums are avant-garde jazz, straining against the jazz idiom. This group is really playing Cecil Taylor music, whatever that is. On "Bulbs" Cecil plays shattering piano over a fleet groove played by Sunny Murray (drums) and Henry Grimes (bass). The tune is exciting, cryptic, and loaded with subtle references to pop, soul and jazz. "Mixed" sounds like it came straight out of a dream, and features Archie Shepp (tenor sax) and Jimmy Lyons (alto sax) playing sleepy clouds of sound.
Roswell Rudd's Sextet is more about group interaction. Charlie Haden and Lewis Worrell both play upright bass, and combined with Rudd's trombone and Giuseppi Logan's bass clarinet, the sound is sensuous, low and warm. Robin Kenyatta has a chiming tone on the alto sax; Beaver Harris's drumming is fluid and colorful. "Respects" is a tribute to the under-appreciated pianist/composer Herbie Nichols. Although the playing is empathetic and achieved throughout, the compositions lack the mystery inherent in Cecil Taylor's set.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Cecil Taylor

Product Info

  • UPC: 011105027021
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)