Gerry Mulligan Complete 1953 Studio Masters

Complete 1953 Studio Masters
Your Price: $17.94
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  3654S
on most orders of $35
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: October 16, 2003
  • Label: Jazz Factory Spain


  • 1.Limelight
  • 2.The Lady Is a Tramp
  • 3.Turnstile
  • 4.Moonlight in Vermont
  • 5.Cherry
  • 6.Carson City Stage
  • 7.Makin' Whoopee
  • 8.Motel
  • 9.My Old Flame
  • 10.Love Me or Leave Me
  • 11.Jeru
  • 12.Swing House
  • 13.Utter Chaos
  • 14.I May Be Wrong
  • 15.I'm Beginning to See the Light
  • 16.The Nearness of You
  • 17.Tea for Two
  • 18.Darn That Dream
  • 19.Varsity Drag
  • 20.Speak Low
  • 21.Half Nelson
  • 22.Lady Bird
  • 23.Love Me or Leave Me
  • 24.Swing House
  • 25.I May Be Wrong - (12" LP Take)

Product Description:

Personnel: Gerry Mulligan (baritone saxophone); Chet Baker (trumpet); Chico Hamilton, Larry Bunker (drums).
Liner Note Author: Eric Mills.
Recording information: Gold Star Studios, Los Angeles, CA (01/03/1953-05/07/1953); Los Angeles, CA (01/03/1953-05/07/1953); Radio Recorders, Los Angeles, CA (01/03/1953-05/07/1953).
For those who found the Mosaic set too intimidating, and the Capitol multi-disc sets too much of a good thing, this Jazz Factory budget collection of the complete studio masters of Gerry Mulligan and Chet Baker from 1953 -- before the West Coast jazz sound had firmly established itself as a "scene," and before Chet Baker sang. The 25 cuts here are all full of the luster and magic that this dynamic duo held between them before drugs, egos, and money tore them apart. These sides comes from Pacific Jazz, Fantasy, and Gene Norman Presents.. and include some of the most definitive performances in either man's career. Chico Hamilton was the drummer on the Fantasy sides, and Larry Bunker on the rest; Carson Smith played bass here. Most notable are the readings of "Limelight," "The Lady Is a Tramp," "Moonlight in Vermont," "Darn That Dream," "Lady Bird," and the LP take of "I May Be Wrong," which closes the set. For the price, the sound and depth of this collection can't be beat. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Gerry Mulligan

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 107,307
  • UPC: 8436006498725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm