Uri Caine Toys

1 rating
Price: $17.09
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YHKJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 20, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Winter & Winter

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 10/96, p.45
3.5 Stars - Good/Very Good - "...Combining and recombining musicians, from duets to octets, Caine shows a definite knack for orchestration, flexibility and wit..."
JazzTimes - 12/96, p.119
"As you are drawn into the complexities and excitement of pianist Uri Caine's creations...you want to soak up what you hear, play it over and linger a while....Caine shows flair for capacious expression and a deep entrenchment in the jazz piano tradition....this is serious, intelligent jazz at its absorbing best."


  • 1.Time Will Tell
  • 2.The Prisoner
  • 3.Herbal Blue
  • 4.Or Truth?
  • 5.Yellow Stars in Heaven
  • 6.Over & Out
  • 7.Dolphin Dance
  • 8.Toys
  • 9.Cantaloupe Island
  • 10.Woodpecker
  • 11.I'm Meshugah for My Sugah (And My Sugah's Meshugah for Me)

Product Description:

Personnel: Uri Caine (piano); Dave Douglas (trumpet); Joshua Roseman (trombone); Gary Thomas (flute, tenor saxophone); Don Byron (bass clarinet); Dave Holland (bass); Ralph Peterson (drums); Don Alias (percussion).
Recorded at Power Station, New York, New York in February and March 1995.
Personnel: Uri Caine (piano); Uri Caine; Dave Holland (bass instrument); Gary Thomas (flute, tenor saxophone); Don Byron (bass clarinet); Dave Douglas (trumpet); Josh Roseman (trombone); Ralph Peterson (drums); Don Alias (percussion).
Recording information: Power Station, New York, NY (02/1995-03/1995).
Photographers: Robert "RX Lord" Lewis; Robert Lewis .
1996's Toys continues Uri Caine's integration of disparate styles into jazz. The opening track, "Time Will Tell," references Gustav Mahler's "First Symphony," and while other pieces on the album may not quote Caine's classical background as directly, his technical brilliance and mercurial style shine on "Herbal Blue," "Dolphin Dance," and the title track. ~ Heather Phares

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Uri Caine

Product Info

  • UPC: 025091907724
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)