Nina Simone Verve Jazz Masters 17

Verve Jazz Masters 17
17 ratings
Price: $12.59
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YHCR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Polygram Records


  • Buy for $1.291.Black Is The Color Of My Lover's Hair
  • Buy for $1.292.I Put A Spell On You
  • Buy for $1.293.Love Me Or Leave Me
  • Buy for $0.994.Little Girl Blue
  • Buy for $0.995.My Baby Just Cares For Me
  • Buy for $1.296.I Loves You, Porgy
  • Buy for $1.297.Work Song
  • Buy for $1.298.Ne Me Quitte Pas (Do Not Leave Me)
  • 9.Wild Is The Wind
  • Buy for $1.2910.See Line Woman
  • Buy for $1.2911.Strange Fruit
  • Buy for $1.2912.Pirate Jenny
  • Buy for $1.2913.Four Women
  • Buy for $1.2914.Mississippi Goddamn
  • Buy for $1.2915.Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
  • Buy for $1.2916.I Hold No Grudge

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Nina Simone (vocals, piano); Rudy Stevenson (guitar); Lisle Atkinson (bass); Bobby Hamilton, Cornell McFadden (drums).
Primarily recorded in 1964 & 1965. Includes liner notes by James Gavin.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
This is part of the Verve Jazz Masters series.
Personnel: Nina Simone (vocals, piano); Rudy Stevenson (guitar); Cornell McFadden, Bobby Hamilton (drums); James Gavin (sequencer).
Liner Note Author: James Gavin.
Recording information: New York, NY (1964-1966); Vine Street Bar & Grill, Hollywood, CA (1964-1966).
Unknown Contributor Roles: Hal Mooney; Horace Ott; Michael Lang .
This compilation brings together 16 great tracks that Nina Simone recorded for the Philips label during the years 1964-1966. This record presents Nina in her prime, at a time when she created some of the best work of her legendary career. Her range of musical style is, as always, all over the map: jazz, folk, protest songs, gospel, musical theater, and R&B are all a part of her creative journey.
Included in this collection are such timeless classics as her original tunes "Four Women," and "Mississippi Goddam," both which beautifully articulate racial injustices, her haunting version of "Wild Is The Wind," and her unforgettable version of Screaming Jay Hawkins' "I Put a Spell on You." Also included on this CD is a finger-popping "My Baby Just Cares For Me" which was recorded live at the Vine Street Bar & Grill in 1987.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 17 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Nina Simone

Product Info

  • UPC: 731451819827
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)