Nina Simone Nina: The Essential Nina Simone [Import]

Nina: The Essential Nina Simone [Import]
23 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $6.66 Limited Time Only
List Price: $7.99
You Save: $1.33 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YHCF
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Metro Music


  • 1.My Baby Just Cares for Me
  • 2.Mood Indigo
  • 3.He's Got the Whole World in His Hands
  • 4.Don't Smoke in Bed
  • 5.Love Me or Leave Me
  • 6.He Needs Me
  • 7.Little Girl Blue
  • 8.Plain Gold Ring
  • 9.House of the Rising Sun - (live)
  • 10.Ain't Got No (I Got Life) - (live)
  • 11.Gin House Blues - (live)
  • 12.Ain't No Use - (live)
  • 13.Mississippi Goddam - (live)
  • 14.See Line Woman - (live)
  • 15.Four Women - (live)
  • 16.I Sing Just to Know That I'm Alive
  • 17.Fodder on Her Wings
  • 18.I Loves You, Porgy

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Lucy O'Brien.
While there's some good music on this 73-minute CD, it's a patchy quilt of songs from the 1950s to the 1980s, reaching as far back as late-'50s sessions from early in her career, and stretching through several subsequent decades, including two songs from a 1985 album and seven songs from her In Concert album thrown in along the way. That's not, incidentally, her 1964 Philips In Concert album, but an identically titled release that's obviously from much later, since there are references to Michael Jackson and Ronald Reagan inserted into one of the songs. Other than those pair of 1985 tracks, the music is good, and sometimes superb, as on her version of "Mood Indigo." However, there are better anthologies out there. Although there are liner notes by noted author Lucy O'Brien, little is supplied in the way of specific dates and original release information. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 23 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Nina Simone

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 73,050
  • UPC: 698458101020
  • Shipping Weight: 0.17/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)