Horace Silver Rockin' with Rachmaninoff

Rockin' with Rachmaninoff
1 rating
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  SFDE
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Image Entertainment


  • 1.Rocky's Overture
  • 2.Rocky Meets The Duke
  • 3.Satchmo's Song
  • 4.Monkeyin' Around With Monk
  • 5.A Ballad For Hawk
  • 6.The Skunky Funky Blues
  • 7.Sunday Mornin' Prayer Meetin'
  • 8.Hallelujah To Ya
  • 9.The Righteous Rumba
  • 10.Lavender Love
  • 11.Rockin With Rachmaninoff

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Horace Silver (piano); Dawn Burnett, Andy Bey (vocals); Rickey Woodard, Ralph Bowen, Doug Webb (tenor saxophone); Michael Mossman, Bob Summers (trumpet); Andy Martin, Bob McChesney (trombone); Bob Maize (bass); Carl Burnett (drums).
Recorded at Sage & Sound Studio, Hollywood, California.
Horace Silver's Rockin' With Rachmaninoff was originally conceived as a stage musical, complete with singers, dancers, musicians, and a narrator to tell the story of the composer's idea of Duke Ellington introducing Sergei Rachmaninoff to all the jazz greats in heaven. Though it was only performed a few times during a short run in 1989 at the Barnesdale Theatre in Hollywood, Silver had the foresight to record selections from it two years later, though it would be a dozen additional years before this music became available commercially, released by Bop City. "Rocky's Overture" is a solid opener, featuring the leader and trombonist Andy Martin, while "Rocky Meets the Duke" is a blend of Silver's readily identifiable style of hard bop with the swinging feeling of Ellington. "Satchmo's Song" is a warm waltz sung with gusto by Dawn Burnett, followed by a spirited Michael Mossman trumpet solo. Andy Bey, a favorite of numerous musicians, is featured in several selections, but pays a warm tribute to tenor sax great Coleman Hawkins in "A Ballad for Hawk." Although it is an instrumental, there's no missing the spiritual influence in the driving "Hallelujah to Ya," which has brilliant solos by tenor saxophonist Rickey Woodard and Mossman, as well as the composer. If this CD is any indication as to the quality of Horace Silver's short-lived musical, it must have been one hell of a show; too bad it wasn't videotaped. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Horace Silver

Product Info

  • UPC: 014381164022
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)