George Shearing Shearing Piano

Shearing Piano
7 ratings
Price: $12.59
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  34YXW
on most orders of $35+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.Stella by Starlight
  • 2.On the Street Where You Live
  • 3.Guilty
  • 4.Friendly Persuasion (Thee I Love)
  • 5.For Every Man There's a Woman
  • 6.It Might as Well Be Spring
  • 7.High on a Windy Hill
  • 8.If
  • 9.A Tune for Humming
  • 10.Sigh No More
  • 11.My Funny Valentine
  • 12.In the Still of the Night
  • 13.So Would I
  • 14.Tenderly
  • 15.Can't We Be Friends?
  • 16.It Never Entered My Mind
  • 17.Memories of You
  • 18.Don't Explain
  • 19.Homesick, That's All
  • 20.Reverie

Product Description:

Solo performer: George Shearing (piano).
Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
Recorded at Capitol Studios, Los Angeles, California between December 10, 1956 and June 23, 1957. Originally released on Capitol (T-909). Includes liner notes by Brian Priestly.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: George Shearing (piano).
Recording information: Capitol studios, Los Angeles, CA (12/10/1956-06/23/1957).
This is one of the earliest releases to feature George Shearing exclusively as a solo pianist, and the CD reissue of the long unavailable LP adds ten previously unissued tracks. He is rather surprisingly low-key on most of these interpretations, even though they are mostly ballads, possibly because of Capitol's original marketing concept. "Stella by Starlight" is especially odd, starting off rather dreamy and evolving into more of an arrangement that sounds as if a classical pianist is making a crossover recording. Many of the other songs have long since disappeared from the jazz scene (if any of them were regularly played) since the original record came out in the 1950s; they include long forgotten songs such as "Guilty," "Friendly Persuasion," "High on a Windy Hill," and "Sigh No More." The newly added material includes a version of "My Funny Valentine," which has a rather unusual bassline and later hints at various classical composers, especially Mozart. Music by Rachmaninov is incorporated into his arrangement of "Tenderly," and a theme by Poulenc is worked into "On the Street Where You Live"; there's also an interpretation of Debussy's "Reverie." Although this isn't a very representative release from George Shearing's considerable discography (spanning over a half century), it should not be condemned because it doesn't sound like his better-known jazz recordings. As long as one isn't expecting Shearing's typical locked hands and often humor-filled style that's heard on most of his releases, this CD should please any jazz fan who is in the mood for something mellow. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for George Shearing

Product Info

  • UPC: 724353157425
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)