George Shearing That Shearing Sound

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.3
3 ratings
List Price: $11.98
Your Price: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  TLR 833472

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: August 5, 1994
  • Label: Telarc


  • 1.East Of The Sun
  • 2.I'd Like To Recognize The Tune
  • 3.I'll Never Smile Again
  • 4.I Hear Music
  • 5.Girl Talk
  • 6.Autumn Serenade
  • 7.Consternation
  • 8.Stars In My Eyes
  • 9.Strollin'
  • 10.Peace
  • 11.Very Early
  • 12.Conception
  • 13.Lullaby Of Birdland

Product Description:

Personnel: George Shearing (piano); Louis Stewart (guitar); Steve Nelson (vibraphone); Dennis Machrel (drums).
Recording information: Power Station, NY (02/14/1994-02/16/1994).
This was pianist George Shearing's first recording in a piano-vibes-guitar-bass-drums quintet since he broke up his original group in 1978 after 30 years of steady work; Shearing sounds surprisingly inspired throughout. With guitarist Louis Stewart, vibraphonist Steve Nelson, bassist Neil Swainson, and drummer Dennis Mackrel, Shearing explores such vintage Quintet standards as "East of the Sun (And West of the Moon)" and "I'll Never Smile Again" along with two Horace Silver compositions, a pair of his own songs ("Conception" and his biggest hit, "Lullaby of Birdland"), and a variety of other suitable material. The music ranges from easy listening to hard-driving bebop. The sound of the George Shearing Quintet remains as appealing as ever. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for George Shearing

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 93,813
  • UPC: 089408334726
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: