Gil Scott-Heron Ghetto Style

Ghetto Style
3 ratings
Price: $8.98
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  9F35
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: November 2, 1998
  • Label: BMG Int'l


  • 1.Revolution Will Not Be Televised, The - (studio)
  • 2.Or Down You Fall - (studio)
  • 3.Needle's Eye, The - (studio)
  • 4.I Think I'll Call It Morning - (studio)
  • 5.When You Are Who You Are - (studio)
  • 6.Save The Children - (studio)
  • 7.Did You Hear What They Said? - (studio)
  • 8.Free Will - (studio)
  • 9.Speed Kills - (studio)
  • 10.Middle Of Your Day - (studio)
  • 11.Pieces Of A Man - (studio)
  • 12.Sign Of The Ages, A - (studio)
  • 13.Get Out Of The Ghetto Blues, The - (studio)
  • 14.Lady Day & John Coltrane - (studio)
  • 15.Home Is Where The Hatred Is - (studio)
  • 16.No Knock - (studio)
  • 17.Revolution Will Not Be Televised, The - (studio)
  • 18.Sex Education: Ghetoo Style - (studio)
  • 19.Small Talk At 125th & Lenox - (studio)
  • 20.King Alfred Plan - (studio)
  • 21.Billy Gren Is Dead - (studio)

Product Description:

This compilation features 21 tracks from Gil Scott-Heron's first three long-players -- Small Talk at 125th and Lenox (1970), Pieces of a Man (1971), and Free Will (1972) -- all for producer Bob Thiele's Flying Dutchman label. Although Scott-Heron's seminal recordings consisted of his radical street poetry set to a bombast of conga accompaniment, he honed his prose into socially conscious R&B. This would heavily influence rap music nearly a decade prior to its fruition in the early '80s and 1990s. The original recitation version of "The Revolution Will Not Be Televised" -- which comes off as militant as the more familiar instrumentally accompanied reading -- as well as the slice-of-life commentary title track "Small Talk at 125th and Lenox" appropriately represent Scott-Heron's first disc with an edgy political incorrectness taken directly from the soul of the American ghettos. Although the tone of his later work would become somewhat melodically tempered, the lyrical content remained in-your-face and wholly uncompromising. On the follow-up, Pieces of a Man, the artist is accompanied by a bevy of studio musicians and jazz heavies, including Ron Carter (bass), Hubert Laws (flute/saxophone), as well as Bernard "Pretty" Purdie (drums). This would also begin Scott-Heron's dramatic and fruitful collaborative relationship with Brian Jackson (keyboards), which would spawn several landmark and otherwise socially conscious discs, including the apropos bicentennial release It's Your World (1976). Jackson's delicate interplay on "Did You Hear What They Said" and "Or Down You Fall" demonstrates the musical cohesion that would continue to develop between the two. Although this is a European import, as no domestic compilation of this material exists, Ghetto Style (1998) is a highly recommended primer. ~ Lindsay Planer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Gil Scott-Heron

Product Info

  • UPC: 743216280629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)