Shirley Scott Queen of the Organ: Memorial Album

Queen of the Organ: Memorial Album
4 ratings
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  34YQV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Prestige


  • 1.It Could Happen to You
  • 2.The Chef
  • 3.Caravan
  • 4.Fourmost
  • 5.Nightime Is the Right Time
  • 6.Person to Person
  • 7.The Moon of Manakoora
  • 8.Sonnymoon For Two
  • 9.Travelin' Light
  • 10.Blue Seven
  • 11.Senor Blues
  • 12.Soul Shoutin'
  • 13.Solar
  • 14.Five Spot After Dark

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Shirley Scott (Hammond B-3 organ); Al Smith, Mildred Anderson (vocals); Arnett Cobb, Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis, Coleman Hawkins, Kenny Burrell, Buddy Tate, Stanley Turrentine, Oliver Nelson (tenor saxophone); Joe Newman (trumpet); Jerome Richardson (flute); Kenny Burrell (guitar); George Duvivier, Henry Grimes (bass); Arthur Edgehill, Roy Haynes (drums).
Producers: Esmond Edwards, Bob Weinstock, Ozzie Cadena.
Recorded between 1958 & 1964.
Shirley Scott was indeed the Queen of the Organ and this 14-track collection of her work for Prestige, Bluesville, and Moodsville gives ample proof of that fact. The collection covers the years 1958 to 1964 and features her recordings as a leader and as a sideman. Her light and swinging tone at the B-3 made her a perfect foil for the great tenor saxophonist Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis; three tracks from their fruitful partnership are included, a highlight being the rocking take on Davis' "The Chef." She also teamed up with her husband at the time, Stanley Turrentine, for some sessions in the early '60s, and two tracks -- the rollicking "Soul Shoutin'" and the swinging "Five Spot After Dark" -- are included. She also did sessions backing singers; from those sessions a killer version of "(Night Time Is) The Right Time" by Al Smith and "Person to Person" by Mildred Anderson are included. The rest of the disc is made up of sessions Scott led, and all are first-rate soul-jazz workouts. Of special note are her storming version of "Caravan" and a moody take on Sonny Rollins' "Blue Seven," with a fiery solo by trumpet great Joe Newman. Scott is often overlooked when lists of the great jazz organ players are made. Anyone who listens to her stellar work on this highly enjoyable collection will see just what a mistake that glaring omission is. ~ Tim Sendra

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Shirley Scott

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218312721
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)