Hans Glawischnig Panorama

1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  F899
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sunny Side

Entertainment Reviews:

Signal To Noise (magazine) (p.57) - "[T]he record is consistently rewarding due to Glawischnig's impressive structures and the strong individual performances."


  • Buy for $0.991.Line Drive
  • Buy for $0.992.Panorama
  • Buy for $0.993.The Orchids
  • Buy for $0.994.Gypsy Tales
  • Buy for $0.995.Set to Sea
  • Buy for $0.996.Oceanography
  • Buy for $0.997.Beneath the Waves
  • Buy for $0.998.Barretto's Way
  • Buy for $0.999.Rabbit Race

Product Description:

Personnel: Hans Glawischnig (bass guitar); Chick Corea (piano); Johnathan Blake (drums); Ben Monder (guitar); David Binney, Miguel Zen¢n (alto saxophone); Rich Perry (tenor saxophone); Luis Perdomo (piano); Antonio Sanchez , Marcus Gilmore (drums).
Additional personnel: Chick Corea.
Recording information: Clinton Sudios, New York, NY (11/2006); Kaleidoscope Studios, Union City, NJ (11/2006).
Photographer: Adrian Hernandez.
A brilliant bassist and a talented composer, Hans Glawischnig has had important associations with Ray Barretto and David Sanchez while being very interested in adventurous and avant-Latin jazz. His originals demand to have masterful musicians perform them, and a glance at the lineup of musicians on Panorama shows that they are treated well. Chick Corea makes two appearances in trios ("Panorama" and "Oceanography"; the latter based on "How Deep Is the Ocean") while the other selections include altoist Miguel Zen¢n, altoist David Binney or (on the warm ballad "Sea to Sea") tenor saxophonist Rich Perry. One should not overlook the consistently inventive playing of pianist Luis Perdomo, either. While supporting the other soloists, Glawischnig (who often bows during his own solos) plays stimulating lines and keeps the momentum of the music flowing. The hyper "Gypsy Tales," the two Corea appearances and "Beneath the Waves," which sounds a bit like the type of song played by the Keith Jarrett Quintet of the '70s with Dewey Redman, are among the highlights of this continually intriguing program. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 016728117920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)