Django Reinhardt Swing 39

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Swing 39
10% OFF
Rating 4.5
4 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
List Price: $11.98
Your Price: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  UNIV 159854

CD Details

  • Released: February 19, 2001
  • Label: UMVD Labels


  • 1.Jeepers Creepers
  • 2.Jeepers Creepers
  • 3.Swing '39
  • 4.Japanese Sandman
  • 5.I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight
  • 6.I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight
  • 7.Tea for Two
  • 8.Tea for Two
  • 9.My Melancholy Baby
  • 10.Time on My Hands
  • 11.Twelfth Year
  • 12.Twelfth Year
  • 13.My Melancholy Baby
  • 14.Japanese Sandman
  • 15.Tea for Two
  • 16.I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight
  • 17.Hungaria

Product Description:

Personnel: Django Reinhardt, Joseph Reinhardt, Pierre "Barro" Ferret (guitar); Stephane Grappelli (violin); Emmanuel Soudieux (double bass).
Reissue producer: Francois Le Xuan.
Recorded at Polydor Studios, Paris, France on March 21, 1939. Includes liner notes by Alain Tercinet.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
This is part of Verve's Jazz In Paris series.
Personnel: Django Reinhardt (guitar); Joseph Reinhardt (guitar); St?phane Grappelli (violin).
Recording information: Paris, France (03/21/1939-05/17/1939).
Translator: Martin Davies.
In 2005, the Pegasus label released Swing 39, a chronologically scrambled Django Reinhardt collection that paints an accurate portrait of this accomplished improviser using 36 recordings he made during the years 1935-1950. The title Swing 39 should not be taken as an indicator of the exact vintage of the contents. Only about three titles are verifiably traceable to the year 1939; in fact, Reinhardt is known to have recorded four different versions of "Swing '39," three each of "Swing '41" and "Swing '42," and one take of "Swing '48," and furthermore, these titles seldom indicated the exact year during which each piece was recorded. Django Reinhardt's voluminous recorded legacy is an intricate and surprisingly complex entity; unfortunately, a mixed-up sampler like this does virtually nothing for those who are trying to figure it out for themselves. What it does offer is a pleasant selection of well-played studies in Parisian Gypsy swing, and it is recommended for those who want a set of general impressions without any context whatsoever. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Django Reinhardt

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 118,537
  • UPC: 601215985429
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item