Souvenirs [Verve]

Souvenirs [Verve]
5 ratings
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YJAF
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1988
  • Label: Polygram Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Honeysuckle Rose
  • Buy for $0.992.Night and Day
  • Buy for $0.993.Sweet Georgia Brown
  • Buy for $0.994.Souvenirs
  • Buy for $0.995.My Sweet
  • Buy for $0.996.Liza (All the Clouds 'Ll Rollaway)
  • Buy for $0.997.Stomping at Decca
  • Buy for $0.998.Love's Melody
  • Buy for $0.999.Daphne
  • Buy for $0.9910.Lambeth Walk
  • Buy for $0.9911.Nuages
  • Buy for $0.9912.H. C. Q. Strut
  • Buy for $0.9913.The Man I Love
  • Buy for $0.9914.Imrovisation No. 2
  • Buy for $0.9915.Undecided - (featuring Beryl Davis)
  • Buy for $0.9916.Please Be Kind
  • Buy for $0.9917.Nocturne
  • Buy for $0.9918.I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm
  • Buy for $0.9919.Louise
  • Buy for $0.9920.Don't Worry 'Bout Me - (featuring Beryl Davis)

Product Description:

Full performer name: Django Reinhardt/Stephane Grappelly With The Quintet Of The Hot Club Of France.
Personnel: Django Reinhardt (guitar); Stephane Grappelly (violin, piano); Beryl Davis (vocals); Roger Chaput, Eugene Vees, Jack Llewllyn, Alan Hodgkiss (guitar); Louis Vola, Coleridge Goode, Roger Grasset, Emmanuel Soudieux (bass).
Recorded between 1938 & 1946. Includes liner notes by John Tracy.
There are two distinct periods covered by this compilation of sessions Django Reinhardt, Stephane Grappelli, and the Quintet of the Hot Club of France recorded for a number of French labels. The first was just before Grappelli left France to go to England, not wanting to be under the Nazi Germany-sponsored Vichy government during World War II. Reinhardt stayed in France to head a successful band. The second was recorded following the war, when Grappelli returned to France to continue to perform with Reinhardt until 1949. Regardless of the time period, the music here is vintage Reinhardt/Grappelli. It swings, it's expressive, and most of the time, it's fun. Reinhardt lays the foundation for Count Basie's "one more time" "April in Paris" routine on "Sweet Georgia Brown," with a similar call, "one more." Reinhardt's grasp of harmony, incredible technique, and powerful sense of rhythm are the trademarks of these (and virtually all of his) sessions. One hears these attributes used to their fullest on such tunes as "My Sweet" and "Liza." The album has one track where Reinhardt plays solo guitar, "Improvisation No. 2." But his playing is more expressive and effective when in a group. Grappelli shows that he was no slouch at the piano on "The Man I Love" and "Don't Worry 'Bout Me." American expatriate Beryl Davis vocalizes on "Undecided" and "Don't Worry 'Bout Me." The contributions to the swing feel of the pieces by brother Joseph Reinhardt, while never fully appreciated, are considerable. This album demonstrates why Django Reinhardt was such a celebrity as a guitarist and why he had a significant influence on guitarists from all parts of the world for years. ~ Dave Nathan

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Django Reinhardt

Product Info

  • UPC: 042282059123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)