Bud Powell Paris Sessions

Paris Sessions
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YJ3X
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Pablo


  • 1.Tune For Duke
  • 2.I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  • 3.Satin Doll
  • 4.For My Friends
  • 5.Perdido
  • 6.Rue De Clichy
  • 7.Taking A Chance On Love
  • 8.Get Happy
  • 9.How High The Moon
  • 10.John's Abbey
  • 11.Bud On Bach
  • 12.Bebop
  • 13.Crossing The Channel
  • 14.Body And Soul

Product Description:

Personnel: Bud Powell (piano); Zoot Sims, Barney Wilen, Johnny Griffin (tenor saxophone); Dizzy Gillespie (trumpet); Gilbert Rovere, Pierre Michelot, Guy Hayat (bass); Kansas Fields, Kenny Clarke, Jacques Gervais (drums).
Recorded in Paris, France between 1957 & 1964. Includes liner notes by Duck Baker.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Bud Powell (piano); Barney Wilen, Zoot Sims (tenor saxophone); Dizzy Gillespie (trumpet); Jacques Gervais, Kansas Fields, Kenny Clarke (drums).
Liner Note Author: Duck Baker.
Recording information: 1957-1964.
Photographer: Francis Wolff.
Recorded between 1957 and 1964, Paris Sessions captures Bud Powell late in his career in a variety of settings, in the studio and live. This collection reissues only a few choice tracks from the numerous recordings made by the pianist's friend and guardian, Francis Paudras. While critics and fans have noted the erratic nature and hesitations of Powell's later work, Duck Baker argues in the liner notes that a number of these pieces show him in top form. There are pleasant takes on standards like "I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)" and "Satin Doll" with bassist Gilbert Rovere and drummer Kansas Fields offering backup. Powell methodically builds his solos on both pieces, slowly adding intricate fills and tasteful asides, but these mellow pieces never really take off. Powell finds his groove, however, on upbeat pieces like "For My Friends" and "Perdido," filling both with high-energy solos. There's a live, ten-minute take of "Taking a Chance on Love" with Zoot Sims sitting in, and a lo-fi version of "How High the Moon" with Dizzy Gillespie. There's a fine, short solo performance of "Bud on Bach" and a frantic take on "Be Bop," both captured at the Club St. Germain in Paris. While one might wish for better fidelity on several of the live cuts, the performances soar. Paris Sessions may fail to convince fans that Powell's later work matched his glory days, but it nonetheless stands as an enjoyable collection. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Bud Powell

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218097222
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)