Oscar Peterson The Composer

The Composer
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  C2Y3
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Pablo


  • Buy for $0.991.Jubilation
  • Buy for $0.992.Lady Di's Waltz
  • 3.Night Child
  • Buy for $0.994.L'Impossible
  • 5.City Lights
  • 6.The Bach Suite: Allegro
  • 7.If You Only Knew
  • Buy for $1.298.Hogtown Blues
  • Buy for $0.999.Place St. Henri

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Oscar Peterson (piano); Joe Pass (guitar); Niels-Henning Orsted-Pedersen, David Young (bass); Louis Bellson, Martin Drew (drums).
Producers: Oscar Peterson, Norman Granz.
Compilation producer: Eric Miller.
Engineers include: Phil Edwards, Phil Sheridan, Steve Williams.
Includes liner notes by Leslie Gourse.
The unifying element of The Composer refers to the fact that Peterson has written all nine compositions, and attempts to give him credit for his writing skills. These pieces have been taken from several albums, recorded between 1974 and 1986, and performed both live and in the studio. Placing Peterson in a big-band setting will perhaps seem odd to those accustomed to hearing the master in small combos. Odd perhaps, but the opening cut, "Jubilation," immediately reassures with its up-tempo drive and spunk. This is followed by "Lady Di's Waltz," a mellow, and somewhat classical piece, appropriately recorded in London. Before one can become too comfortable with the strings, however, "Night Child" and "L'Impossible" utilize a small-band setting that includes guitarist Joe Pass. The 11-minute "Night Child" falls into a relaxed groove, allowing time for extended solos from Peterson, Pass, and bassist Niels-Henning Orsted Pedersen. A classical, mellow mood falls over both "City Lights" and "If You Only Knew," evoking comparisons to '50s third stream jazz. "Place St. Henri" digs deep at jazz roots to come up with a freewheeling piece of ragtime, played solo with verve and pizzazz. While all these pieces sound great, the divergence in styles is somewhat jarring. The album is also, with the exception of "Jubilation" and "Place St. Henri," pretty mellow coming from a master of swing and bop. Fans will probably not complain, though. They will be more than happy that The Composer singles out Peterson's considerable writing skills. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Oscar Peterson

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218097024
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)