Avishai Cohen Unity

12 ratings
Price: $10.78
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  C2VR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

  • by Avishai Cohen ~ Adama $9.99
  • by Avishai Cohen ~ Colors $9.99
  • by Avishai Cohen ~ Devotion $10.56
  • by Avishai Cohen ~ Lyla

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Stretch Records

Entertainment Reviews:

CMJ - 7/30/01, p.16
"...Cohen trades in his bass for the piano...his chops are formidable enough to make his piano teacher proud....Well supported by a sextet of excellent young players..."
Down Beat - 12/01, pp.96-7
3.5 stars out of 5 - "...Anothe rmusically fertile expression of Cohen's individualistic art..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Short Story
  • 2.Vamp
  • 3.Etude
  • Buy for $0.994.Float
  • Buy for $0.995.Island Man
  • Buy for $0.996.Pause
  • Buy for $0.997.Jazz Condo
  • Buy for $0.998.Song for My Brother
  • 9.A Child Is Born
  • Buy for $0.9910.Yagla
  • Buy for $0.9911.To the Love

Product Description:

Full performer name: Avishai Cohen & The International Vamp Band.
Avishai Cohen & The International Vamp Band: Avishai Cohen (vocals, piano, electric bass); Avi Lebovich (vocals, trombone); Antonio Sanchez (vocals, drums); Yosvany Terry (alto & tenor saxophones, chekere); Diego Urcola (trumpet, flugelhorn); Yagil Baras (acoustic bass).
Recorded at Avatar Studios, New York, New York. Includes liner notes by Avishai Cohen.
Personnel: Avishai Cohen (vocals, piano, electric bass); Avi Lebovich (vocals, trombone); Antonio Sanchez (vocals, drums); Yosvany Terry (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Diego Urcola (trumpet, flugelhorn).
Audio Mixer: Joe Ferla.
Recording information: Avatar Studios, New York, NY (04/2001).
Bassist Avishai Cohen's fourth Stretch release marks the debut of a new project, the International Vamp Band, which first went public in early 2001 in a series of performances at the Jazz Gallery in New York. Interestingly, Cohen is the band's pianist. He leaves the upright bass duties to Yagil Baras and only occasionally overdubs lines on electric bass. The other musicians are Diego Urcola on trumpet and fl�gelhorn, Yosvany Terry on alto and tenor saxophones and chekere, Avi Lebovich on trombone and flute, and Antonio Sanchez on drums. (Cohen's bass student Bryan Keleen guests on "Island Man.") While Cohen's piano playing is not virtuosic (although it comes close on the solo piece "Pause"), his intention is simply to approach bandleading from a different vantage point. Perhaps as a direct result, this new music boasts a rather expansive harmonic palette. It's hypnotic, as the term "vamp" would suggest, and it's often downright soothing -- which is appropriate, given that Cohen intended the album as a prayer for peace, particularly in his native Israel, which was descending into a state of war at the time of this recording. ~ David R. Adler

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Avishai Cohen

Product Info

  • UPC: 013431903628
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)