Oscar Peterson Exclusively for My Friends [Box Set] (4-CD Box Set)

Exclusively for My Friends [Box Set] (4-CD Box
24 ratings
Price: $53.98
List Price: $63.98
You Save: $10 (16% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  C2VQ
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: April 1, 1992
  • Label: Polygram Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 3/93, p.43
5 Stars - Excellent - "...Peterson responded to the setting, hospitality, and intimacy with what he would later describe as the best recordings he had ever made...[he] controls his vast technique at all times...simply brilliant..."
Musician - 3/93, p.94
"...the daunting improvs on standard melodies are downright robust...the master's Tatumesque rococoisms are offset by some Bud-like oomph, and thi set is all the more persuasive because of it..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.At Long Last Love
  • 2.Easy Walker
  • 3.Tin Tin Deo
  • 4.I've Got a Crush on You
  • 5.A Foggy Day
  • 6.Like Someone in Love
  • 7.On a Clear Day (You Can See Forever)
  • 8.I'm in the Mood for Love
  • 9.Girl Talk

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Robbins Nest
  • 2.Medley: I Concentrate on You / Moon River: I Concentrate On You / Moon River
  • 3.Medley: Waltzing Is Hip / Satin Doll: Waltzing Is Hip / Satin Doll
  • 4.Love Is Here to Stay
  • 5.Sandy's Blues
  • 6.Alice in Wonderland
  • 7.Noreen's Nocturne
  • 8.In a Mellow Tone
  • 9.Nica's Dream

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.On Green Dolphin Street
  • 2.Summertime
  • 3.Sometimes I'm Happy
  • 4.Who Can I Turn To (When Nobody Needs Me)
  • 5.Travelin' On
  • 6.Emily
  • 7.Quiet Nights
  • 8.Sax No End
  • 9.When Lights Are Low

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Someone to Watch over Me
  • 2.Perdido
  • 3.Body and Soul
  • 4.Who Can I Turn To (When Nobody Needs Me)
  • 5.Bye Bye Blackbird
  • 6.I Should Care
  • 7.Lulu's Back in Town
  • 8.Little Girl Blue
  • 9.Take the "A" Train

Product Description:

Personnel: Oscar Peterson (piano); Ray Brown, Sam Jones (bass); Ed Thigpen, Bobby Durham, Louis Hayes (drums).
Recorded in George Brunner-Schwer's private studio in Villingen, Germany between 1963 and 1968. Includes liner notes by Sigfried Schmidt-Joos and Baldur Bockhoff.
EXCLUSIVELY FOR MY FRIENDS contains the 6 LPs Oscar Peterson recorded for the German label MPS (Musik Produktion Schwarzwald). Three of the discs are trio recordings and one is of solo piano. The set includes a 32-page booklet with historic black and white photographs and a discography with pictures of the original album covers.
Personnel: Oscar Peterson (piano); Ed Thigpen, Louis Hayes, Bobby Durham (drums).
Liner Note Author: Baldur Bockhoff.
Recording information: Villingen, Germany (??/1963-04/1968).
Oscar Peterson has stated that he feels his MPS recordings are his finest. That is quite a statement considering the huge amount of records that the pianist has produced through the past 50 years. This four-CD set reissues the music from six of his MPS LPs: Action, Girl Talk, The Way I Really Play, My Favorite Instrument, Mellow Mood, and Travelin' On. While some of the performances feature the 1963 trio he had with bassist Ray Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen, most of the music dates from 1967-1968 and matches Peterson with bassist Sam Jones and either Louis Hayes or Bobby Durham on drums. A special treat is Peterson's first unaccompanied solo album, which fills up the final CD. Peterson's many fans know what to expect in this set, while other listeners need to discover him to realize what all of the fuss was about. Quite simply, Oscar Peterson has long been one of the greatest pianists the world has ever known; this reissue offers plenty of proof. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 24 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Oscar Peterson

Product Info

  • UPC: 731451383021
  • Shipping Weight: 0.46/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)