Oscar Peterson Song Is You: Best of The Verve Songbooks (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.2
5 ratings
Only 8 copies left
List Price: $22.98
Your Price: $20.68
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  PLG 531558

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: May 21, 1996
  • Label: Polygram Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Cheek to Cheek
  • 2.It Ain't Necessarily So
  • 3.Just A-Sittin' and A-Rockin'
  • 4.What Is This Thing Called Love?
  • 5.Prelude to a Kiss
  • 6.Fascinating Rhythm
  • 7.Easter Parade
  • 8.Night and Day
  • 9.Long Ago (And Far Away)
  • 10.Tea for Two
  • 11.The Song Is You
  • 12.Without a Song
  • 13.I Want to Be Happy
  • 14.The Lady Is a Tramp
  • 15.Blue Moon
  • 16.Lover

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I Only Have Eyes for You
  • 2.I Gotta Right to Sing the Blues
  • 3.You Must Have Been a Beautiful Baby
  • 4.Come Rain or Come Shine
  • 5.I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 6.I'm in the Mood for Love
  • 7.John Hardy's Wife
  • 8.I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  • 9.That Old Black Magic
  • 10.A Foggy Day
  • 11.I Couldn't Sleep a Wink Last Night
  • 12.Blue Moon
  • 13.Serenade in Blue
  • 14.Love for Sale
  • 15.The Song Is Ended
  • 16.Yesterdays

Product Description:

Personnel: Oscar Peterson (piano); Herb Ellis, Barney Kessel (guitar); Ray Brown (bass); Ed Thigpen (drums).
Compilation producer: Michael Lang.
Principally recorded in Los Angeles in 1952; Radio Recorders, Hollywood, California on December 7 and 10, 1953 and November 15-16, 1954; Universal Recording Studios, Chicago, Illinois on July 21 and August 1, 1959. Includes liner notes by Richard Palmer.
Personnel: Oscar Peterson (piano); Herb Ellis, Barney Kessel (guitar); Ed Thigpen (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Ben Young.
Liner Note Author: Richard Palmer.
Recording information: Los Angeles, CA (12/1952-08/1959); Radio Recorders, Hollywood, CA (12/1952-08/1959); Universal Recording Studios, Chicago, IL (12/1952-08/1959).
Editor: Peter Pullman.
Photographer: Herman Leonard.
Pianist Oscar Peterson has made a remarkable number of records through the years and his two songbook series for Verve (each recording features the songs of a different composer) were extensive, to say the least. During 1952-54 he cut ten albums (113 songs) and in 1959 he added nine more records (108 songs), in addition to his regular busy activities. Because these were essentially easy-listening sets with concise interpretations that always kept the melodies of the composers close by, they are not considered Peterson's greatest work but they are enjoyable in their own right. This particular two-CD set has some of the highlights from these marathon projects, most of which (the Gershwin songbooks excepted) had never been out on CD before. Peterson teams up with guitarist Barney Kessel and bassist Ray Brown on nine numbers from 1952, features Herb Ellis in Kessel's place on 13 other songs and concludes with ten selections from his 1959 trio with Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen. In all, 32 of the 221 selections are on this two-fer and, although one hopes that these projects will be completely reissued someday (which would be a mammoth undertaking), this melodic set is quite pleasing. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Oscar Peterson

Product Info:

  • UPC: 731453155824
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items