Oscar Peterson At the Stratford Shakespearean Festival (Live)

At the Stratford Shakespearean Festival (Live)
10 ratings
Price: $9.89
List Price: $10.99
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YJQD
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Polygram Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 8/93, p.114
4 Stars - Excellent - "...his classic trio scream through the material like their pants were on fire...such is the momentum generated that a drummer is rendered superfluous..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Falling In Love With Love
  • Buy for $0.992.How About You?
  • Buy for $0.993.Flamingo
  • Buy for $0.994.Swinging On A Star
  • Buy for $0.995.Noreen's Nocturne
  • Buy for $0.996.Gypsy In My Soul
  • Buy for $0.997.Nuages - (previously unreleased)
  • 8.How High The Moon
  • 9.Love You Madly
  • Buy for $0.9910.52nd Street Theme
  • 11.Daisy's Dream - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Personnel: Oscar Peterson (piano); Herb Ellis (guitar); Ray Brown (bass).
Recorded in Stratford, Ontario, Canada on August 8, 1956. Includes original release liner notes by Oscar Peterson and new liner notes by James Isaacs.
Personnel: Oscar Peterson (piano, drums); Herb Ellis (guitar).
Liner Note Author: James Isaacs.
Recording information: Stratford Shakespearean Festival, Ontario, Canada (08/08/1956).
This CD contains what is considered by most listeners to be the finest recording of the Oscar Peterson-Herb Ellis-Ray Brown trio, a group that lasted from 1953-1958. Although the soloing was always quite passionate and spontaneous, the very complex arrangements are really what made this unit sound unique. The live CD adds two selections ("Nuages" and the 13-minute "Daisy's Dream") to the original program, and contains particularly memorable renditions of "Falling in Love With Love," "How About You," "Swinging on a Star," "How High the Moon," and "52nd Street Theme." Essential music from a classic band. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Oscar Peterson

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 94,227
  • UPC: 731451375224
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)