Peetie Wheatstraw Complete Recorded Works, Volume 2 (March 1934-July 1935) [Import]

Complete Recorded Works, Volume 2 (March
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YJQC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: May 1, 1994
  • Label: Document


  • 1.Back Door Blues
  • 2.Packin' Up Blues
  • 3.Long Lonesome Drive
  • 4.Midnight Blues
  • 5.The Last Dime
  • 6.All Night Long Blues
  • 7.Numbers Blues
  • 8.Good Home Blues
  • 9.These Times
  • 10.Throw Me in the Alley
  • 11.C & A Blues
  • 12.Last Week Blues
  • 13.Keyhole Blues
  • 14.Long Time Ago Blues
  • 15.Doin' the Best I Can
  • 16.The Rising Sun Blues
  • 17.Blues at My Door
  • 18.Truthful Blues
  • 19.Good Whiskey Blues
  • 20.More Good Whiskey Blues
  • 21.Letter Writing Blues
  • 22.Whiskey Head Blues
  • 23.Slave Man Blues
  • 24.C & A Blues

Product Description:

Personnel: Peetie Wheatstraw (vocals, piano); Blind Teddy Darby, Casey Bill Weldon, Charlie Jordan (guitar); Ike Rodgers (tuba).
Audio Remasterer: Gerhard Wessely.
Liner Note Author: Paul Garon.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (03/25/1934-07/17/1935).
With the second of seven volumes comprising Document's complete works of Peetie Wheatstraw, we arrive at the threshold of his fully formed style, perfected over many months of steady gigging while the Great Depression prevented him from making any records. Tracks 1-9 were cut in March and August 1934 with guitarist Charley Jordan, and when compared with Peetie's earlier achievements the difference is apparent from the get-go. Until 1938, when he began to vary the structure of his tunes, nearly every Peetie Wheatstraw record would begin with an instrumental introduction he had initiated, while backing vocalist Pretty Boy Walker back in 1932. This patented intro would become Wheatstraw's signature, as instantly recognizable and ubiquitous as those of inner-city graffiti artists during the final decades of the 20th century. The other audible innovation is Peetie's singing style, which by 1934 had undergone a dramatic transformation involving what would swiftly become his other trademark: the soon-to-be-widely-imitated use of the phrase "ooh, well, well" to punctuate and accentuate his delivery. During this period, Wheatstraw recorded for Decca (the label on which his music would appear exclusively beginning in October 1936) and Vocalion, the company responsible for peddling some of his titles to the Sears & Roebuck Co., who released them on their Conqueror label. Originally backed with a title by Tee McDonald, the jazzy "Throw Me in the Alley" is a rare treat in the form of an upbeat Wheatstraw record involving extra instrumentalists. Billed as Peetie Wheatstraw & His Blue Blowers, this hot little group included trombonist Ike Rodgers and pianist Henry Brown, as well as two unidentified individuals playing clarinet and violin. Other participants on this satisfying collection which covers Wheatstraw's progress through July 1935 are guitarists Teddy Darby and Charlie McCoy, as well as steel guitarist Casey Bill Weldon, whose handle derived from K.C., an abbreviation of his old stomping ground, Kansas City. "Keyhole Blues" and "Long Time Ago Blues" pare the instrumentation down once again to Wheatstraw and his guitar, sounding more lonesome and personal than he generally did at the piano. Issued as the flipside of a Jimmie Gordon record, "Doin' the Best I Can" borrows its melody from "Sittin' on Top of the World" which was first introduced by the Mississippi Sheiks. "Good Whiskey Blues" and its sequel "More Good Whiskey Blues" are straightforward appreciations of legalized liquor (including imported Holland gin!) as opposed to the perils of unregulated, often poisonous prohibition booze. "C & A Train Blues," which refers to the Chicago and Alton railroad, is the first recording on which Wheatstraw amends his nickname by calling himself the High Sheriff from Hell. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Peetie Wheatstraw

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298524222
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)