Joe Pass Guitar Virtuoso (4-CD Box Set)

Guitar Virtuoso (4-CD Box Set)
1 rating
Price: $53.98
List Price: $59.98
You Save: $6 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  YJCD
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Label: Pablo

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Cheek to Cheek
  • 2.Blues For Fred / They All Laughed
  • 3.Night and Day
  • 4.Here's That Rainy Day
  • 5.Have You Met Miss Jones?
  • 6.Passanova
  • 7.Sultry
  • 8.Indian Summer
  • 9.Lush Life
  • 10.Weaselocity
  • 11.Giant Steps
  • 12.Misty
  • 13.Blues For Basie
  • 14.Star Eyes
  • 15.Blues For Angel
  • 16.Song For Ellen
  • 17.How Deep Is the Ocean?

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Relaxin' at Camarillo
  • 2.Tenderly
  • 3.Gee Baby, Ain't I Good to You?
  • 4.Do Nothin' till You Hear From Me
  • 5.Samba de Orfeu
  • 6.Seulb
  • 7.Riff Blues
  • 8.Bluesology
  • 9.Cotton Tail
  • 10.O Barquinho :: Little Boat
  • 11.Gentle Rain, The :: Chuva Delicado
  • 12.As Long as I Live
  • 13.It Ain't Necessarily So
  • 14.D-Joe
  • 15.Anouman
  • 16.Belleville

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Eric's Smoozie Blues
  • 2.Beautiful Love
  • 3.A Time For Love
  • 4.Tarde
  • 5.Gentle Tears
  • 6.Lover Man (Oh, Where Can You Be?)
  • 7.Oleo
  • 8.Blues For Monty
  • 9.Stompin' at the Savoy
  • 10.Ornithology
  • 11.Samba de Orfeu
  • 12.Donna Lee
  • 13.Sweet Georgia Brown

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.You Took Advantage of Me
  • 2.All Too Soon
  • 3.I Didn't Know About You
  • 4.You Go to My Head
  • 5.Easy Living
  • 6.Why Don't You Do Right?
  • 7.Alone Together
  • 8.Baileywick
  • 9.S'il Vous Plait
  • 10.Lover Man (Oh, Where Can You Be?)
  • 11.Tricotism
  • 12.Blues For 2
  • 13.Dindi
  • 14.Takeoff
  • 15.My Old Flame
  • 16.I Didn't Know What Time It Was
  • 17.Autumn Leaves

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Joe Pass (guitar); Jim Hughart, Colin Bailey, Ray Brown, Bobby Durham, Herb Ellis, Oscar Peterson, Plas Johnson, Gerald Wiggins, Andy Simpkins, Albert "Tootie" Heath, Duke Ellington, Louie Bellson, Paulinho Da Costa, Oscar Castro Neves, Claudio Slon, Octavio Bailly, Don Gruisin, Jimmy Rowles, Shelly Manne, Frank Severino, Monty Budwig, Niels-Henning Orsted Pederson, Ella Fitzgerald, Zoot Sims, Sarah Vaughan, Harold Jones.
Recorded between 1973 and 1992.
As this lavishly boxed, four-CD distillation of his Pablo sessions proves, Joe Pass was probably the guitar-playing equivalent of Art Tatum on the Norman Granz roster -- not only for his vast output, but also for the all-encompassing, almost orchestral way in which he got around his instrument. The set is divided equally into four sections -- disc one for his astounding solo electric and acoustic guitar sides, disc two for studio recordings with various groups, disc three for various live recordings solo and with groups, disc four the delicate Ella Fitzgerald and other duo partner sessions and quartet pieces backing Sarah Vaughan. Though the box is not in chronological order -- which is not necessary here, since Pass was essentially a finished, non-evolving artist when he joined Pablo -- Jim Ferguson's helpful commentary on the sessions is chronologically organized, balancing out Benny Green's personalized disc-by-disc analysis of the tracks. A couple of tracks with a modern Brazilian rhythm section also stand out, as does the supercharged "Sweet Georgia Brown" with Oscar Peterson and Niels-Henning Orsted Pedersen, and the set's lengthiest item, a fond ten-and-a-half-minute take out on "Stompin' at the Savoy" live at Donte's club in North Hollywood, CA. The latter track and a scant two others are the only ones new to CD, and there are no unreleased goods to be heard, but with five hours of Pass taken a little at a time, this box will wear very well over the years. ~ Richard S. Ginell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Joe Pass

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218442329
  • Shipping Weight: 1.06/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)