Charlie Parker Complete Savoy Live Performances: Sept. 29, 1947-Oct. 25, 1950 (4-CD)

Complete Savoy Live Performances: Sept. 29,
10 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $44.98
SUPER SAVINGS: $40.69 Limited Time Only
List Price: $49.98
You Save: $9.29 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  GHAG
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Savoy Jazz

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.52nd Street Theme
  • Buy for $1.292.Koko
  • Buy for $1.293.Groovin' High
  • Buy for $1.294.Big Foot
  • Buy for $1.295.Ornithology
  • Buy for $1.296.Slow Boat to China
  • Buy for $1.297.Hot House
  • Buy for $1.298.Salt Peanuts
  • Buy for $1.299.Chasin' the Bird
  • Buy for $1.2910.Out of Nowhere
  • Buy for $1.2911.How High the Moon
  • Buy for $1.2912.Half Nelson
  • Buy for $1.2913.White Christmas
  • Buy for $1.2914.Little Willie Leaps
  • Buy for $1.2915.Jumpin' With Symphony Sid / Be-Bop
  • Buy for $1.2916.Slow Boat to China
  • 17.Ornithology
  • 18.Groovin' High

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $1.291.East of the Sun (And West of the Moon)
  • Buy for $1.292.Cheryl
  • Buy for $1.293.How High the Moon
  • Buy for $1.294.Scrapple from the Apple
  • Buy for $1.295.Bebop
  • Buy for $1.296.Hot House
  • Buy for $1.297.Oop Bop Sh'bam
  • Buy for $1.298.Scrapple from the Apple
  • Buy for $1.299.Salt Peanuts
  • Buy for $1.2910.Groovin' High
  • Buy for $1.2911.Scrapple from the Apple
  • Buy for $1.2912.Barbados
  • Buy for $1.2913.Salt Peanuts
  • Buy for $1.2914.Scrapple from the Apple

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • Buy for $1.291.Barbados
  • Buy for $1.292.Bebop
  • Buy for $1.293.Groovin' High
  • Buy for $1.294.Confirmation
  • Buy for $1.295.Salt Peanuts
  • Buy for $1.296.Half Nelson
  • Buy for $1.297.A Night in Tunisia
  • Buy for $1.298.Scrapple from the Apple
  • Buy for $1.299.Deedle
  • Buy for $1.2910.What's This?
  • Buy for $1.2911.Cheryl
  • Buy for $1.2912.Anthropology
  • Buy for $1.2913.Hurry Home
  • Buy for $1.2914.Deedle
  • Buy for $1.2915.Royal Roost Bop
  • Buy for $1.2916.Cheryl
  • Buy for $1.2917.Slow Boat to China
  • Buy for $1.2918.Chasin' the Bird

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.There's a Small Hotel
  • Buy for $1.292.These Foolish Things
  • Buy for $1.293.Keen and Peachy
  • Buy for $1.294.Hot House
  • Buy for $1.295.Swivel Hips (Bird, Bass and Out)
  • Buy for $1.296.Goodbye
  • Buy for $1.297.A Night in Tunisia
  • Buy for $1.298.Dizzy Atmosphere
  • Buy for $1.299.Groovin' High
  • Buy for $1.2910.Confirmation
  • Buy for $1.2911.Koko

Product Description:

Full Title: The Complete Live Performances On Savoy.
THE COMPLETE LIVE PERFORMANCES ON SAVOY comes with a 60-page booklet complete with rare photographs, liner notes by Orrin Keepnews, an essay by Paul Bacon, and song-by-song annotation by Loren Schoenberg.
Personnel: Charlie Parker (alto saxophone); Dave Lambert, Buddy Stewart (vocals); Lucky Thompson, Claude McLin, Flip Phillips, Charlie Ventura (tenor saxophone); Miles Davis, Kenny Dorham, Dizzy Gillespie, Conte Candoli (trumpet); Bennie Green (trombone); Milt Jackson (vibraphone); Tadd Dameron, Al Haig, Chris Anderson, John Lewis (piano); George Freeman (guitar); Curley Russell, Tommy Potter, Leroy Jackson, Al McKibbon (bass); Max Roach, Joe Harris, Shelly Manne, Ed Shaughnessy, Bruz Freeman (drums).
Digitally remastered by Paul Reid III (Denon Digital Industries, Madison, Georgia).
Personnel: Charlie Parker (vocals, alto saxophone); Buddy Stewart (vocals, background vocals); Dave Lambert, Dave Lambert (vocals); George Freeman (guitar); Claude McLin, Flip Phillips, Lucky Thompson, Charlie Ventura (tenor saxophone); Conte Candoli, Dizzy Gillespie, Kenny Dorham, Miles Davis (trumpet); Bennie Green (trombone); Chris Anderson , John Lewis, Al Haig, Tadd Dameron (piano); Milt Jackson (vibraphone, background vocals); Bruz Freeman, Joe Harris , Max Roach, Shelly Manne, Ed Shaughnessy (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Loren Schoenberg; Orrin Keepnews; Paul Bacon.
Recording information: Carnegie Hall, New York, NY (1947-1950); Chicago Club, New York, NY (1947-1950); Chicago, IL (1947-1950); Royal Roost (1947-1950); Royal Roost New York, NY (1947-1950).
Editors: Paul Reid III; Orrin Keepnews.
Photographers: Frank Driggs; Alan Nahigian.
A dream come true for completists and Parker enthusiasts, this 4-disc set brings together all the performances from the artist's Savoy years, including full-length numbers from the legendary Royal Roost dates (broadcast on "Symphony Sid" Torin's program), and material from Chicago club and Carnegie Hall concerts. Parker's Quintet, whose line-up rotates but often features the spectacular and very young Miles Davis on trumpet and the drum wizardry of Max Roach, displays an always-dazzling caliber of musicianship, heightened by the appearance of guests like Lucky Thompson, Dizzy Gillespie and Milt Jackson.
Bird's repertoire is well-represented, with tracks including "Koko," "Ornithology," "Chasin' The Bird," "Scrapple From The Apple" and "Confirmation." Unusual cuts like "These Foolish Things Remind Me Of You," "How High The Moon," a version of "White Christmas" and "Salt Peanuts," add variety to these sets. Audiophiles may be disappointed by the surface noise in these recordings (particularly in the Chicago material), but the payoff is the musical/historical significance of these documents, in which Parker's transformative, volcanic yet exquisitely considered playing is in full flower. A highly representative compendium of a genius's vision, this is an essential addition to the Parker catalogue.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Charlie Parker

Product Info

  • UPC: 795041702128
  • Shipping Weight: 0.57/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)