Gerry Mulligan The Art of Gerry Mulligan: The Final Recordings

The Art of Gerry Mulligan: The Final Recordings
2 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YK3W
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: August 15, 2006
  • Label: Telarc


  • 1.Paraiso
  • 2.Dragonfly
  • 3.Dream A Little Dream
  • 4.Wave
  • 5.O Bom Alvinho
  • 6.Noblesse
  • 7.Nobody Else But Me
  • 8.Brother Blues
  • 9.Art Of Trumpet
  • 10.My Funny Valentine
  • 11.North Atlantic Run
  • 12.Oh, Mr. Sauter? Yes, Mr. Finegan?
  • 13.Song For Strayhorn

Product Description:

Personnel: Gerry Mulligan (baritone saxophone); Jane Duboc (vocals); Grover Washington Jr. (soprano & tenor saxophones); Bobby Milliken, Byron Stripling (trumpet, flugelhorn); Ryan Kisor (trumpet); Warren Vache (cornet); Louis Bonilla, Jim Pugh (trombone); Dave Taylor (bass trombone); Charlie Ernst, Cliff Korman, Dave Grusin, Ted Rosenthal, Bill Mays (piano); Emanuel Moreira, John Scofield (guitar); Rogerio Maio, Leo Traversa, Dean Johnson (bass); Dudka DaFonseca, Peter Grant, Ron Vincent (drums); Waltinho Anastacio, Norberto Goldberg (percussion).
Producers: John Snyder, Gerry Mulligan.
Compilation producer: Adrian Mills.
Recorded between 1993 and 1995. Includes liner notes by Alyn Shipton.
Personnel: Gerry Mulligan (baritone saxophone); Jane Duboc (vocals); Emanuel Moreira, John Scofield (guitar); Grover Washington, Jr. (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Byron Stripling (trumpet, flugelhorn); Ryan Kisor (trumpet); Warren Vach‚ (cornet); Jim Pugh , Luis Bonilla, David Taylor (trombone); Clifford Korman, Dave Grusin, Charlie Ernst, Ted Rosenthal, Bill Mays (piano); Peter Grant , Ron Vincent (drums); Norberto Goldberg, Valtinho Anastacio (percussion).
Liner Note Author: Alyn Shipton.
Recording information: Clinton Recording Studios, Studio A, New York, NY (07/05/1993-06/27/1995).
Photographer: Franca Rota Mulligan.
As one of the most famous baritone sax players in jazz, Gerry Mulligan is an icon from the 1950s cool jazz era. Known for his light, airy tone, he was also an excellent composer, arranger, and bandleader and an important figure in the development of cool jazz. On this CD, The Art of Gerry Mulligan: The Final Recordings, Telarc Jazz has compiled selections from three of Mulligan's recordings for the label during those years: Paraiso-Jazz Brazil with Jane Duboc on vocals; Dream a Little Dream a quartet recording; and Dragonfly, also by Mulligan's quartet but featuring special guests guitarist John Scofield, saxophonist Grover Washington, Jr., and pianist Dave Grusin. Each of these creative periods produced an exceptional output of compositions including "O Bom Alvinho," "Song for Strayhorn," and the ever-popular "Dragonfly." While this compilation represents only the latter part of his great career from 1993-1995, it is an exceptional preservation of the cool jazz legacy of Gerry Mulligan. ~ Paula Edelstein

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Gerry Mulligan

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 67,960
  • UPC: 089408351723
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)