Lee Morgan Dizzy Atmosphere

Dizzy Atmosphere
10% OFF
Rating 4.0
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  OJC 1762
on most orders of $75+
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Label: OJC


  • 1.Dishwater - (take 4)
  • 2.Someone I Know - (take 6)
  • 3.D. D. T. - (take 5)
  • 4.Whisper Not - (take 5)
  • 5.About Time - (take 5)
  • 6.Day By Day - (take 2)
  • 7.Rite Of Swing - (take 3)
  • 8.Over The Rainbow - (take 4)
  • 9.Someone I Know - (previously unreleased, take 3, alternate)
  • 10.Whisper Not - (previously unreleased, take 3-, alternate)
  • 11.Over The Rainbow - (previously unreleased, take 3, alternate)

Product Description:

Personnel: Lee Morgan (trumpet); Wynton Kelly (piano); Billy Mitchell (tenor saxophone); Billy Root (baritone saxophone); Al Grey (trombone); Paul West (bass); Charles Persip (drums).
Producer: Art Rupe.
Compilation producer: Billy Vera.
Recorded at Master Recorders, Hollywood, California on February 18, 1957. Originally released on Specialty (2110). Includes liner notes by Ralph J. Gleason.
Trombonist Al Grey and tenor saxophonist Billy Mitchell were the original stars of this 1957 recording, an offshoot of Dizzy Gillespie's then-running big band. Within a couple of years of this date, however, trumpeter Lee Morgan and pianist Wynton Kelly emerged with careers of their own and today are the most well-known musicians to have been involved in the session. Morgan became known for his work with Art Blakey and for the Blue Note label, and Kelly through working with Miles Davis and Cannonball Adderly and leading his own trio.
Due to the presence of Benny Golsen and Roger Spotts as arrangers (and composers of six out of eight tunes), this session comes off as more of a little-big-band event than the kind of hard-bop situation which Morgan in particular would soon come to epitomize. The four horns are lush and confidant, creating the illusion of a much larger ensemble, and each musician is carefully featured in turn. Fans of Oliver Nelson's THE BLUES AND THE ABSTRACT TRUTH should find much here to their liking, particular Golson's one compositional contribution, the gorgeous "Whisper Not."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Lee Morgan

Product Info:

  • UPC: 025218176224
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item